Book List

12 Books to Read If You Love the Shadow and Bone TV Show

April 26, 2021
Emily Ritter

If you’re like us, you love a sweeping fantasy series full of monsters and magic, and are obsessed with Netflix’s Shadow and Bone. But what should you read next that will give you those same dark, mythical vibes?

 

Books to Read If You Love the Shadow and Bone TV Show 

1. Crown of Feathers by Nicki Pau Preto

 Much like Alina Starkov from Shadow and Bone, Veronyka starts her journey naïve to the power that she holds. Veronyka is determined to be a Phoenix Rider, so much so that she disguises herself as a boy to join their ranks. While she is hiding secrets of her own, Veronyka discovers the mysteries of her past that might be the key to saving the Empire. After reading Crown of Feathers, pick up Heart of Flames and Wings of Shadow

 

2. Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson

This one is for anyone who loves enemies-forced-to-save-the-world-together vibes. When a dangerous book is released and Elisabeth, an apprentice at a magical library, is implicated in the crime, she forms an alliance with her sworn enemy, the sorcerer Nathaniel Thorn. As their bond grows stronger, Elisabeth starts to question everything she’s been taught. Because Elisabeth has a power she never guessed, and a future she could never have imagined. 

 

3. Slayer by Kiersten White

Having Grisha magic isn’t exactly the same as being a Slayer, but it definitely has its similarities. Nina has grown up at Watcher’s Academy, where teens are trained as guides for Slayers—girls gifted with supernatural strength to fight the forces of darkness. Nina has never embraced the violent Watcher lifestyle and wants to be a healer. But thanks to Buffy, the famous (and infamous) Slayer, Nina is not only the newest Chosen One—she’s the last Slayer, ever. Don’t you just love a reluctant hero? 

 

4. Chain of Gold by Cassandra Clare

Cordelia Carstairs is a Shadowhunter, a warrior trained since childhood to battle demons. When a shocking series of demon attacks devastate Edwardian London, Cordelia’s new life there is blown apart. She must join together with her butt-kicking, demon-destroying group of friends to discover the truth and save the dayAnd through it all, Cordelia is in love with a surly bad boy who is fighting his own dark legacy. Not only that, but James is known to turn into shadow from time to time and travel to hell dimensions. 

 

5. Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw

 

Do you like books with dark, witchy vibes? Some say the woods surrounding the town of Fir Haven are magical. Others say haunted. Rumored to be a witch, only Nora Walker knows the truth. One night, her special connection to the woods leads her to Oliver Huntsman, who disappeared over a month ago. Nora learns the key to saving Fir Haven lies in Oliver’s mysterious reappearance. But Oliver is hiding secrets of his own…  

 

6. Dealing in Dreams by Lilliam Rivera

If you were excited to see Kaz Brekker and his gang of Crows in Shadow and Bone, then this is definitely the book for you. Nalah leads the fiercest all-girl crew in Mega City. But her dream is to get off the streets and make a home in the exclusive Mega Towers. The closer she gets to her goal, the more she loses sight of everything—and everyone—she cares about. Nalah must choose whether or not she’s willing to do the unspeakable to get what she wants. Can she discover that home is not where you live but whom you chose to protect, before she loses the family she’s created for good? 

 

7. A Dark and Hollow Star by Ashley Shuttleworth  

 

If you love Shadow and Bone for the dark angst, A Dark and Hollow Star is the book for you. This thrilling contemporary fantasy is set in the magical underworld of Toronto and follows a queer cast of characters racing to stop a serial killer whose crimes could expose the hidden world of faeries to humans. Dive into this novel for a longing-filled love story, a unique mythology, page-turning mystery, and awesome LGBTQ representation.  

 

8. Tithe by Holly Black

Discover the dark and seductive realm of faerie in the first book of the Modern Faerie Tales series, where one girl must save herself from the sinister magic of the fey courts, and protect her heart in the process. Kaye’s life takes a turn when she stumbles upon an injured faerie knight in the woods. This brooding, dark faerie pulls Faye into an ancient and violent power struggle between two rival faerie kingdoms.

 

9. Shatter the Sky by Rebecca Kim Wells

Sturmhond fans will love the adventure in this book! A determined young woman sets out to rescue her kidnapped girlfriend by stealing a dragon from the corrupt emperor in this stunning fantasy debut. Maren dreams only of sharing a quiet life with her girlfriend Kaia—until the day Kaia is abducted by the empire. Desperate to save her, Maren will do anything.

 

10. Girls with Sharp Sticks by Suzanne Young

This book is the start of a thrilling, subversive series about a girls-only boarding school with a terrifying secret and the friends who will stop at nothing to protect each other.  As Mena and her friends uncover the dark secrets of what’s actually happening at their school—and who they really are—the girls of Innovations Academy will learn to fight back.

 

11. Cursed by Thomas Wheeler, illustrated by Frank Miller

This one is for anyone who wants to read the book and then watch the show! Cursed on Netflix stars Katherine Langford in this cinematic twist on the tale of King Arthur created by Thomas Wheeler and legendary artist, producer, and director Frank Miller, in which the Lady of the Lake is the true hero.

 

12. The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell

This book is perfect for anyone needing more Crow-like shenanigans! Esta is a talented thief, and she’s been raised to steal magical artifacts from the sinister Order. With her innate ability to manipulate time, Esta can pilfer from the past, collecting these artifacts before the Order even realizes she’s there. And all of Esta’s training has been for one final job: traveling back to 1902 to steal an ancient book. But Old New York is a dangerous and nothing is as it seems, including the Magician himself.

 

Want even more? Check out these YA fantasy books you have to read!

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to register for this site.
Return to home page.