Reasons to Read

5 Reasons to Read Lock & Mori

July 6, 2017
Danielle Finnegan
Riveted Editorial Board

I’m a HUGE Sherlock Holmes fan and I mean HUGE. I’ve read the book by Arthur Conan Doyle, watched the BBC’s Sherlock, CBS’s Elementary, and I even have a small Sherlock Holmes collection of various items (my favorite is my Out of Print Sherlock Holmes shirt). When I found out there’s a Young Adult retelling of Sherlock Holmes called Lock & Mori, I HAD to read it.

Can you imagine a teenage Sherlock Holmes and Moriarty??? Lock & Mori by Heather W. Petty is the first in a series that follows a young Moriarty as she meets Sherlock in high school. Of course a murder takes place and Sherlock and Mori set out to solve it (via a competition, cause why not?). Here is the full summary for your reading pleasure,

In modern-day London, two brilliant high school students meet. A murder will bring them together. The truth very well might drive them apart.

You know their names. Now discover their beginnings.

Someone has been murdered in London’s Regent’s Park, and sixteen-year-old Lock has challenged his classmate Mori to solve the crime before he does. His only rule: they must share every clue with each other.

Mori reluctantly agrees, but what begins as fun and games quickly becomes sinister. As she gets closer to solving the case—and more and more drawn to Lock—she discovers that the murder is connected to her own past. Now she’s keeping secrets from Lock, her family, and her best friend, secrets with dire consequences.

To save herself and loved ones, Mori is prepared to take matters into her own hands. Will Lock be standing by her side when it’s all over? That’s one mystery Mori cannot solve.

Let me tell you, this book is FANTASTIC and if you’re a Sherlock Holmes or murder mystery fan, you DON’T want to miss it. Here are my top fives reasons to check out Lock & Mori. And lucky for you it’s a FREE READ until July 17th!


1. Female Moriarty

Gender bending on a famous villain? Yes, please. This was also the case in the TV show Elementary, and it’s made for an interesting dynamic. Plus, she’s played by Natalie Dormer who is just fantastic. And since we’re reading from Mori’s point of view in the book, the gender bending of Moriarty was even BETTER in Lock & Mori than it was in Elementary, which is saying something.


2. Teenage Sherlock Holmes

Have you ever wondered how Sherlock Holmes would act as a teenager? I didn’t even realize I needed this in my life until I started reading. Since Sherlock is still so young, he has an innocent vibe, which makes sense because he’s young and learning. Yes, he’s still a know-it-all and everything you’d expect Sherlock to be, but also very trusting because he’s so young.


3. Villain Origin Story

Villain origin stories are so on trend right now. Disney had a success with Maleficent and all the upcoming live-action movies seem AMAZING (who else is beyond excited for Emma Stone as Cruella De Vil?!?). Even YA literature has been getting behind the trend with Heartless by Marissa Meyer, a Red Queen origin story. Lock & Mori follows a young Moriarty before she becomes the famous evil genius. Does this story show how she becomes evil or will it explain how she’s misunderstood? You’ll just have to read to find out!


4. The Suspense

There are so many secrets being kept around, from, and between Sherlock and Mori. I was flipping pages like crazy because the suspense was TOO MUCH!


5. THE PLOT TWISTS

GUYS. THE PLOT TWISTS ARE INTENSE. Yes, this isn’t a singular plot twist but multiple plot twists. I didn’t see them coming. I was yelling at my book while I was reading so people on the beach probably thought I was insane. You do not want to miss this twisty intense novel. Trust me.

Read Lock & Mori now for FREE here on Riveted and then read the next book in the series Mind Games while you get ready for Final Fall this November!

Lock & Moriby Heather W. Petty

In modern-day London, two brilliant high school students—one Sherlock Holmes and a Miss James “Mori” Moriarty—meet. A murder will bring them together. The truth very well might drive them apart.

Before they were mortal enemies, they were much more…

FACT: Someone has been murdered in London’s Regent’s Park. The police have no leads.

FACT: Miss James “Mori” Moriarty and Sherlock “Lock” Holmes should be hitting the books on a school night. Instead, they are out crashing a crime scene.

FACT: Lock has challenged Mori to solve the case before he does. Challenge accepted.

FACT: Despite agreeing to Lock’s one rule—they must share every clue with each other—Mori is keeping secrets.

OBSERVATION: Sometimes you can’t trust the people closest to you with matters of the heart. And after this case, Mori may never trust Lock again.

Mind Gamesby Heather W. Petty

Sherlock Holmes and Miss James “Mori” Moriarty may have closed their first case, but the mystery is far from over in the thrilling sequel to Lock & Mori, perfect for fans of Maureen Johnson and Sherlock.

You know their names. Now discover their beginnings.

Mori’s abusive father is behind bars…and she has never felt less safe. Threatening letters have started appearing on her doorstep, and the police are receiving anonymous tips suggesting that Mori—not her father—is the Regent’s Park killer. To make matters worse, the police are beginning to believe them.

Through it all, Lock—frustrating, brilliant, gorgeous Lock—is by her side. The two of them set out to discover who is framing Mori, but in a city full of suspects, the task is easier said than done. With the clock ticking, Mori will discover just how far she is willing to go to make sure that justice is served, and no one—not even Lock—will be able to stop her.

Final Fallby Heather W. Petty

ON SALE NOVEMBER 28!

Sherlock Holmes and Miss James “Mori” Moriarty started at the top of their game—so they have that much farther to fall in this epic conclusion to the Lock & Mori trilogy, perfect for fans of Maureen Johnson and Sherlock.

You know their names. Now discover their beginnings.

Mori is out for revenge. Imprisoned in the English countryside, with her brothers held as leverage, she’s never felt angrier or more helpless. When an opportunity for escape arises, Mori takes it and flees back to the streets of London, where she is finally able to plot the demise of her recently freed father and his cohorts.

But after a bittersweet reunion with Lock, she discovers that he may not be the ally he once was. In the face of blackmail, threats, and Lock’s noble attempts to thwart her crusade, Mori has an impossible decision to make.

Can Mori wash the blood from her hands and walk away? Or will her final fall from grace be the end of everyone she loves?

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to register for this site.
Return to home page.