The Degenerates

Add To Your Shelf

Buy the Book

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo

The Degenerates

By J. Albert Mann

In the tradition of Girl, Interrupted, this fiery historical novel follows four young women in the early 20th century whose lives intersect when they are locked up by a world that took the poor, the disabled, the marginalized—and institutionalized them for life.

The Massachusetts School for the Feeble-Minded is not a happy place. The young women who are already there certainly don’t think so. Not Maxine, who is doing everything she can to protect her younger sister Rose in an institution where vicious attendants and bullying older girls treat them as the morons, imbeciles, and idiots the doctors have deemed them to be. Not Alice, either, who was left there when her brother couldn’t bring himself to support a sister with a club foot. And not London, who has just been dragged there from the best foster situation she’s ever had, thanks to one unexpected, life altering moment. Each girl is determined to change her fate, no matter what it takes.

Add To Your Shelf

Buy the Book

Amazon logoBarnes & Noble logoBooks a Million logoIndiebound logoBookshop logo

Posts With This Book

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to register for this site.
Return to home page.