Book List

Pick Your Favorite Miles Teller and Get a Book Rec!

June 9, 2022
Amelia Johnson

If the Top Gun: Maverick craze and my TikTok FYP is any indication, 2022 is ushering in what I’ve been waiting for since the 2011 Footloose remake… the Miles Teller renaissance. And whether you’re new to the movement or the recent TikTok videos have been TAKING YOUR BREATH AWAY, I am here for you with Miles Teller characters and book recommendations go along with them!

Pick Your Favorite Miles Teller and Get a Book Rec!

1. Rooster (Top Gun: Maverick) – The Bones of Ruin by Sarah Raughley

Anyone who loves the fast-paced action, soaring high stakes, and hot men of Top Gun: Maverick will absolutely love The Bones of Ruin. This page-turning historical fantasy follows an African tightrope dancer who can’t remember her past and also can’t die. It might not seem like an obvious choice, but this must-read book is full of dangerous competitions, exciting sequences, and so much romance (i.e., more hot men). Perfect for any blockbuster action lover!

 

2. Willard (Footloose) – Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

The 2011 Footloose remake brought us forbidden romance, dance sequences, and Miles Teller in some super questionable hats. You probably liked Footloose for the major 1980’s nostalgia and not the cowboy hats, and for you, I would have to recommend Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. Aristotle and Dante meet and learn to open themselves up to love in the 1980s. Get your next eighties fix here!

 

3. Reed Richards (Fantastic Four) Chain of Gold by Cassandra Clare

I am not going to sit here and defend the 2015 Fantastic Four remake, but I will say that Miles Teller as Reed Richards and Michael B. Jordan as Johnny Storm was a kind of a moment, and might qualify as iconic casting choices. And if you’re a fan of iconic ensemble casts, Chain of Gold needs to be at the top of your TBR list. Cordelia and her fellow Shadowhunter friends must unravel their connection to a dark legacy and make a brutal choice that will reveal the price of being a hero.

 

4. Andrew (Whiplash) – When We Were Infinite by Kelly Loy Gilbert

Andrew is a promising young drummer who enrolls in an extremely competitive music conservatory and is pushed to his limit by his new strict and ruthless instructor. Things spiral onwards from there. When We Were Infinite deals with similar themes of living in an extreme pressure situation of academic success and a dedication to music in a community where all the students are always striving to be the best.  

 

5. Sutter (The Spectacular Now) – The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Sutter is an extroverted party animal with a complicated home life and a drinking problem, and after meeting, befriending, and eventually, developing feelings for introverted Aimee, Sutter struggles with the problems in his life and the question of his future. It is a serious coming-of-age story with a hefty dash of romance. Fans of Sutter and The Spectacular Now should check out The Perks of Being a Wallflower, another story that doesn’t shy away from the more serious sides of growing up and coming of age. And then if you haven’t already, make sure to check out the movie adaptation with our other favorite 2010s man, Logan Lerman!

 

6. Peter (Divergent) – Scythe by Neal Shusterman

Tumblr is making a resurgence, which I take to mean that 2022 is the revival of 2014 trends and therefore, the Divergent movie should re-enter our collective consciousness. Peter is a certified Bad GuyTM in the first Divergent, one of the many threatening factors in this futuristic world with factions based on psychological aptitude tests. And after you’ve re-watched Divergent for the thousandth time, I would recommend picking up a copy of Scythe, which is sure to give you the thrilling and chilling science-fiction fix you need!

7. Daniel (That Awkward Moment) – Better Than the Movies by Lynn Painter

That Awkward Moment is a romantic comedy about three ‘bros’ who are navigating the dating scene and their own friendships to many entertaining, and of course, awkward moments. This is a classic romantic comedy. What better way to follow up than with Better Than the Movies, essentially a rom-com about rom-coms. Perpetual daydreamer Liz Buxbaum attempts to find her HEA moment with Michael, her crush since forever, and ends up falling for Wes, the annoying boy next door.

 

8. Miles Teller (“I Bet You Think About Me” music video) – We Can’t Keep Meeting Like This by Rachel Lynn Solomon

I really couldn’t end this article without mentioning the incredible Miles Teller appearance in Taylor Swift’s “I Bet You Think About Me” music video. He plays a handsome groom who is being ‘haunted’ by the appearance of his ex-girlfriend (aka Taylor Swift) at his wedding. Rachel Lynn Solomon’s We Can’t Keep Meeting Like This is the perfect counterpart to this Miles Teller role. After confessing her love via email and being left unanswered at the end of last summer, Quinn and Tarek fight and flirt their way through wedding after wedding while working for their parents, who are wedding planners and catering company owners.

 

Ready for another book rec? Find out what book you should read next based on your fave summer activity!

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to register for this site.
Return to home page.