General

Must-Read Books You Never Knew Were Published by This Legendary Imprint

January 13, 2022
Amy Lavigne

From beloved classics to mega-bestselling series to brilliant debuts, Margaret K. McElderry Books has been publishing books that excite and inspire readers for fifty years! To celebrate, we’ve rounded up a few of our must-read books from this wonderful imprint.

Must-Read Books You Never Knew Were Published by This Legendary Imprint 

1. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder — much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end. If you love City of Bones, be sure to check out the rest of the Shadowhunter series, including: Clockwork Angel, Lady Midnight, and Chain of Gold.

 

2. An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson

A skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts—even as she falls in love with a faerie prince—in this gorgeous debut novel. If you liked An Enchantment of Ravens, don’t miss Margaret Rogerson’s other books: Vespertine and Sorcery of Thorns.

3. Tithe by Holly Black

Discover the dark and seductive realm of faerie in the first book of New York Times bestseller Holly Black’s critically acclaimed Modern Faerie Tales series, where one girl must save herself from the sinister magic of the fey courts, and protect her heart in the process.

 

4. The Curse Workers by Holly Black

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black comes the “dangerously, darkly gorgeous” (Cassandra Clare) Curse Workers trilogy, now together in one beautiful bind-up! This magical bind-up includes: White Cat, Red Glove, and Black Heart. 

 

5. Crank by Ellen Hopkins

Kristina Georgia Snow is the perfect daughter: gifted high school junior, quiet, never any trouble. But on a trip to visit her absentee father, Kristina disappears and Bree takes her place. Bree is the exact opposite of Kristina — she’s fearless. Through a boy, Bree meets the monster: crank. And what begins as a wild, ecstatic ride turns into a struggle through hell for her mind, her soul—her life.

 

6. The Accidental Apprentice by Amanda Foody

A boy who accidentally bonds with a magical Beast must set off on an adventure in the mysterious Woods in this “wholesome, delightful” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review), and cheeky middle grade fantasy debut—perfect for fans of Nevermoor and How to Train Your Dragon.

 

7. These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong (Our Violent Ends)

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River. Ready for the sequel? Read Our Violent Ends!

 

8. The Bones of Ruin by Sarah Raughley

An African tightrope walker who can’t die gets embroiled in a secret society’s deadly gladiatorial tournament in this thrilling historical fantasy set in an alternate 1880s London, perfect for fans of The Last Magician and The Gilded Wolves.

 

9. Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper

On holiday in Cornwall, the three Drew children discover an ancient map in the attic of the house that they are staying in. They know immediately that it is special. It is even more than that — the key to finding a grail, a source of power to fight the forces of evil known as the Dark. And in searching for it themselves, the Drews put their very lives in peril. 

 

10. In Deeper Waters by F.T. Lukens

A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to save him when he is kidnapped during his coming-of-age tour in this swoony adventure that is The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue meets Pirates of the Caribbean.

 

11. Blood Like Magic by Liselle Sambury

A rich, dark urban fantasy debut following a teen witch who is given a horrifying task: sacrificing her first love to save her family’s magic. The problem is, she’s never been in love—she’ll have to find the perfect guy before she can kill him.

 

12. I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

Nothing says summer quite like a murder mystery thriller set in the Hamptons. Anna Cicconi is starting a summer job in the Hamptons as a nanny in the hopes of getting a fresh start. But Anna bears the eerie resemblance to Zoe Spanos, a local girl that went missing over New Years. When Zoe’s body is found in a nearby lake, and Anna is charged with manslaughter. But something doesn’t quite add up and Martina Green, teen host of the Missing Zoe podcast, is determined to find out the truth.

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to register for this site.
Return to home page.