Book List

Books We Can’t Wait for You to Read in 2022

December 28, 2021
Amy Lavigne
2022 is here! 2021 was undoubtedly an unusual year, but luckily great books were here to keep us company through every twist and turn. Now we’re looking forward to a bright year ahead and some of the amazing books that are coming out in 2022! So check out this list of all the upcoming books we can’t for you to read this year.

Books We Can’t Wait for You to Read in 2022

1. Queen of the Tiles by Hanna Alkaf (4/19)

They Wish They Were Us meets The Queen’s Gambit in the world of competitive Scrabble when a teen girl is forced to investigate the mysterious death of her best friend a year after the fact when her Instagram comes back to life with cryptic posts and messages.

2. This is Why They Hate Us by Aaron H. Aceves (5/24)

This fun, irreverent summer romp is Netflix’s Never Have I Ever meets What If It’s Us about a high school senior determined to get over his unrequited feelings for his best friend by getting under someone else.

3. All the Right Reasons by Bethany Mangle (2/15)

The Bachelor meets Gilmore Girls in this laugh-out-loud young adult romance about a girl who joins her mother on a reality dating show for single parents—only to fall for a contestant’s son.

4. Blaine For the Win by Robbie Couch (4/12)

After being dumped so his boyfriend can pursue more “serious” guys, a teen boy decides to prove he can be serious, too, by running for senior class president in this joyful romp from the author of The Sky Blues.

5. Wrecked by Heather Henson (3/22)

Looking for Alaska meets Breaking Bad in this piercing novel about three teens, caught in the middle of the opioid crisis in rural Appalachia, whose world literally blows up around them. Shining a klieg light on the opioid crisis coursing through this country, Wrecked will have readers on the edge of their seat right up until the explosive ending.

6. Turning by Joy L. Smith (3/1)

In this raw, searingly honest debut young adult novel, a former aspiring ballerina must confront her past in order to move forward from a devastating fall that leaves her without the use of her legs.

7.  So This is Ever After by F.T. Lukens (3/29)

Carry On meets Arthurian legend in this funny, subversive young adult fantasy about what happens after the chosen one wins the kingdom and has to get married to keep it…and to stay alive.

8. Always Jane by Jenn Bennett (3/29)

A chauffer’s daughter finds herself in the middle of a love triangle with the sons of her boss’s wealthy next-door neighbors in this delightfully romantic story from the author of Alex, Approximately, Jenn Bennett.

9. Trigger by N. Griffin (3/29)

The Queen’s Gambit meets The Hunger Games in this harrowing young adult thriller about a teen girl whose abusive father teaches her the finer points of chess and hunting for his own sinister ends.

10. Sofi & the Bone Song by Adrienne Tooley (4/19)

In this gorgeous, queer standalone fantasy, a young musician sets out to expose her rival for illegal use of magic only to discover the deception goes deeper than she could have imagined—perfect for fans of An Enchantment of Ravens!

11. Howl by Shaun David Hutchinson (2/15)

From critically acclaimed Shaun David Hutchinson comes a gritty and raw portrayal of the oftentimes traumatic experience of growing up.

12. The Genesis Wars by Akemi Dawn Bowman (4/19)

Black Mirror meets Marie Lu’s Warcross in Nami’s continuing adventures as she fights to free her friends in this high-stakes sequel to The Infinity Courts by award-winning author Akemi Dawn Bowman.

13. Lawless Spaces by Corey Ann Haydu (1/18)

Perfect for fans of Deb Caletti, this poignant coming-of-age novel in verse follows a teen girl who connects with the women of her maternal line through their journals and comes to better understand her fraught relationship with her mother.

14. Gone Dark by Amanda Panitch (4/12)

Dry meets Hatchet in this thrilling tale of survival following a teen girl who must lead her friends across country to the safety of her estranged father’s survivalist compound after a mass power failure leaves the country in chaos.

15. Rima’s Rebellion by Margarita Engle (4/19)

An inspiring coming-of-age story from award-winning author Margarita Engle about a girl falling in love for the first time while finding the courage to protest for women’s right to vote in 1920s Cuba.

16. Very Bad People by Kit Frick (4/5)

In this dark academia young adult thriller for fans of The Female of the Species and People Like Us, a teen girl’s search for answers about her mother’s mysterious death leads to a powerful secret society at her new boarding school—and a dangerous game of revenge that will leave her forever changed.

17. Ain’t Burned All the Bright by Jason Reynolds, illustrated by Jason Griffin (1/11)

Prepare yourself for something unlike anything: A smash-up of art and text for teens that viscerally captures what it is to be Black. In America. Right Now. Written by #1 New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Jason Reynolds.

18. Ashes of Gold by J. Elle (1/11)

In the heart-pounding conclusion to the Wings of Ebony duology, which #1 New York Times bestselling author Nicole Yoon calls “bold, inventive, big-hearted and deeply perceptive,” Rue makes her final stand to reclaim her people’s stolen magic.

19. She Gets the Girl by Rachael Lippincott and Alyson Derrick (4/5)

She’s All That meets What If It’s Us in this swoon-worthy hate-to-love YA romantic comedy from #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of Five Feet Apart Rachael Lippincott and debut writer Alyson Derrick.

20. Those Summer Nights by Laura Silverman (6/7)

After recovering from a life-changing injury, a teen girl must navigate a new summer job, an ex-best friend, and two surprisingly attractive coworkers in this romp of a rom-com for fans of Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian.

21. Summer’s Edge by Dana Mele (5/31)

I Know What You Did Last Summer  meets The Haunting of Hill House  in this atmospheric, eerie teen thriller following an estranged group of friends being haunted by their friend who died last summer.

22. See You Yesterday by Rachel Lynn Solomon (5/3)

From the author of Today Tonight Tomorrow comes a magical romance in the vein of The Opposite of Always and Palm Springs about a teen girl forced to relive her disastrous first day of college—only to discover that her archnemesis is stuck in the time loop with her.

23. A Cruel and Fated Light by Ashley Shutteworth (5/24)

Half-fae Arlo becomes entangled in the courtly intrigue at the Seelie Summer palace as danger for ironborns mounts in this gripping sequel to A Dark and Hollow Star that’s The Cruel Prince meets City of Bones.

24. Blood Like Fate by Liselle Sambury (8/9)

In the spellbinding sequel to “breath of fresh air for the genre” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) Blood Like Magic, Voya fights to save her witch community from a terrible future, perfect for fans of Legendborn and Cemetery Boys.

25. Forest Hills Bootleg Society by Dave Baker and Nicole Goux (7/26)

Set in 2005, this gorgeously illustrated, funny, and honest graphic novel follows four teens who stumble into an illicit anime DVD-burning business that shakes up their conservative small town…and their friendship.

26. The Lucky List paperback by Rachael Lippincott (5/31)

Rachael Lippincott, coauthor of #1 New York Times bestseller Five Feet Apart, weaves a “breezy…truly charming” (Kirkus Reviews) love story about learning who you are, and who you love, when the person you’ve always shared yourself with is gone.

27. Postcards from Summer by Cynthia Platt (5/31)

The Notebook meets Love & Gelato in this heart-wrenching novel about a teen girl who travels to her late mother’s majestic summertime home to learn of the romance—and the tragedy—that changed her life forever.

28. Moon Dark Smile by Tessa Gratton (6/21)

The fate of an Empire lies with a headstrong Heir and a restless demon in this lush YA fantasy for fans of Laini Taylor and Girl, Serpent, Thorn.

29. A Path to the World edited by Lori Marie Carlson-Hijuelos (8/23)

A chorus of essays from a variety of voices, backgrounds, and experiences, exploring what it means to be human and true to yourself.

30. Exactly Where You Need to Be by Amelia Diane Coombs (6/7)

Turtles All the Way Down meets Love and Luck in this romantic road trip story about a teen girl’s last chance to have an epic summer with her best friend before everything changes.

31. Four for the Road by K.J. Reilly (8/23)

The Perks of Being a Wallflower meets The End of the F***ing World in this dark young adult comedy about four unlikely friends dealing with the messy side of grief who embark on a road trip to Graceland.

32. Old Magic by Marianne Curley (7/19)

Outlander gets a witchy Meg Cabot twist in this captivating and romantic YA contemporary fantasy following two witches who must travel back in time to stop an ancient curse.

30. Bad Things Happen Here by Rebecca Barrow (7/5)

I Killed Zoe Spanos meets The Cheerleaders in this haunting mystery about an island town with a history of unsolved deaths—and a girl desperate to uncover the mystery behind it all.

33. Bloodmarked by Tracy Deonn (11/8)

The powerful sequel to the instant New York Times bestselling and award-winning Legendborn—perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Margaret Rogerson!    

34. Bright by Jessica Jung (5/10)

The sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller ShineCrazy Rich Asians meets Gossip Girl in this knockout series from Jessica Jung, K-pop legend, fashion icon, and founder of the international luxury brand, Blanc & Eclare.

35. Love Radio by Ebony LaDelle (5/31)

Hitch meets The Sun Is Also a Star in this witty and romantic teen novel about a self-professed teen love doctor with a popular radio segment who believes he can get a girl who hates all things romance to fall in love with him in only three dates.

36. My Name is Jason. Mine Too. by Jason Reynolds and Jason Griffin (6/28)

A stunning visual autobiography of two crazy-talented besties, bestselling and award-winning author Jason Reynolds and painter Jason Griffin, who could never be who they are singularly if they weren’t who they were together.

Looking for more? Check out these amazing books that were featured on “Best of 2021” lists!

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to register for this site.
Return to home page.