Book List

12 Must-Read YA Books That Came Out in September 2021

September 30, 2021
Saleena Nival

September marks the start of autumn, which means sweater weather, fall aesthetics, and pumpkin picking! September also marked a ton of amazing new YA releases. Check out these new books you need to add to your TBR!

12 Must-Read YA Books That Came Out in September 2021

1. The Bones of Ruin by Sarah Raughley

An African tightrope walker who can’t die gets embroiled in a secret society’s deadly gladiatorial tournament in this thrilling historical fantasy set in an alternate 1880s London, perfect for fans of The Last Magician and The Gilded Wolves.

2. When Can We Go Back to America? by Susan H. Kamei

In this dramatic and page-turning narrative history of Japanese Americans before, during, and after their World War II incarceration, Susan H. Kamei weaves the voices of over 130 individuals who lived through this tragic episode, most of them as young adults.

3. The Jasmine Project by Meredith Ireland

Jenny Han meets The Bachelorette in this effervescent romantic comedy about a teen Korean American adoptee who unwittingly finds herself at the center of a competition for her heart, as orchestrated by her overbearing, loving family.

4. Code Name Badass by Heather Demetrios

Code Name Verity meets Inglourious Basterds in this riotous, spirited biography of the most dangerous of all Allied spies, courageous and kickass Virginia Hall.

5. The Inheritance of Orquidea Divina by Zoraida Cordova

This gorgeously written adult book is perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman, Isabel Allende, and Sarah Addison Allen, this is a gorgeously written novel about a family searching for the truth hidden in their past and the power they’ve inherited, from the author of the acclaimed and “giddily exciting” (The New York Times Book Review) Brooklyn Brujas series.

6. The Other Talk by Brendan Kiely

Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Brendan Kiely starts a conversation with white kids about race in this accessible introduction to white privilege and why allyship is so vital.

7. As if on Cue by Marisa Kanter

A pair of fierce foes are forced to work together to save the arts at their school in this swoony YA enemies-to-lovers romance that fans of Jenny Han and Morgan Matson are sure to adore.

8. She Who Rides the Storm by Caitlin Sangster

In this atmospheric YA fantasy that is Wicked Saints meets There Will Come a Darkness, four teens are drawn into a high-stakes heist in the perilous tomb of an ancient shapeshifter king.

9. For All Time by Shanna Miles

The Sun Is Also a Star meets Outlander in this vivid, utterly romantic debut novel about two teens who relive their tragic love story over and over until they uncover what they must do to change their fate.

10. All This Time paperback by Mikki Daughtry and Rachael Lippincott

From the team behind #1 New York Times bestseller Five Feet Apart comes a gripping romance that asks: Can you find true love after losing everything? This paperback book includes bonus content.

11. Drawn That Way by Elissa Sussman

Moxie meets the world of animation in this fresh, unputdownable novel about a teen girl determined to prove herself in the boys’ club of her dream industry no matter what it takes.

 

12. Cloud Cuckoo Land by Anthony Doerr

From the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of All the Light We Cannot See, comes the highly anticipated adult fiction book, Cloud Cuckoo Land. Set in Constantinople in the fifteenth century, in a small town in present-day Idaho, and on an interstellar ship decades from now, Anthony Doerr’s gorgeous third novel is a triumph of imagination and compassion, a soaring story about children on the cusp of adulthood in worlds in peril, who find resilience, hope—and a book.

 

Want more book recs? Check out these must-reads that came out in August 2021! 

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to register for this site.
Return to home page.