Book List

10 Books to Read If You Loved the Infernal Devices Series

September 16, 2021
Francie Crawford

There’s something about the Infernal Devices series that sets it apart from other fantasy books. Cassandra Clare’s Infernal Devices just has that je ne sais quoi and is one of my favorite Shadowhunters series. If you’re looking for something new to read that fills the void left by Will, Jem, and Tessa, read the books below!

10 Books to Read If You Loved the Infernal Devices Series

1. The Bones of Ruin by Sarah Raughley

This book has just the right tone and content to give you all the feelings that the Infernal Devices does. It’s a high-stakes fantasy, with a strong female lead, and it’s set in Victorian London. To top it off, it’s a lengthy read, in keeping with Cassandra Clare’s habits, so it will keep you busy for a little while!

2. The Last Hours series by Cassandra Clare

If you’re simply looking for more from the Shadowhunters Universe, look no further! The Last Hours series is set in Edwardian London, just after the events of the Infernal Devices series. Even better than that, it features Will and Tessa’s descendants! The series starts with Chain of Gold, and once you’re finished with the first book, check out the second, Chain of Iron.

3. The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell

Set just after the end of the Victorian era in 1902 New York City, this read is jam-packed with magic, drama, and all the same tropes that made the Infernal Devices great. Complete with time-travel and a mission to save all magic, this book is sure to please fans of Infernal Devices.

4. These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

This book has everything—whip smart characters who are always seeking out the front lines of action, forbidden romance with a slow burn that’s enough to scar, and a vibrant setting that’s rich with culture. It takes place in the 1920’s, and the turmoil of the time and plot are plain to see. You won’t be able to put this one down.

5. The Lady Rogue by Jenn Bennett

More gothic than steampunk, this book still has that same dark and adventurous tone as Infernal Devices. Round that out with legends of vampires, magical trinkets, and a frenemies-to-lovers romance that will keep you guessing, and you couldn’t ask for more!

6. The Witch Haven by Sasha Peyton Smith

Like The Last Magician, this dark and witchy read is set in early 1900’s New York City. It’s got a school for witches that feels suspiciously like an Institute in some ways, a mysterious boy, and dark forces stirring in the city. Trust us, you don’t want to miss this one.

7. P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

If you’re just in it for the love triangle, this book has a love triangle to die for. Another old crush, the old rival of the current boyfriend, and a high-stakes game that has them all competing? Tensions are high, drama is inevitable, and the conclusion of it all will sweep you right off your feet.

8. Vespertine by Margaret Rogerson

This incredibly witty read should be your first stop if you’re in it for the action. The start to a new series, Vespertine is jam-packed with non-stop action, magic, and clever banter. Some of these one-liners are so good, you’ll practically hear Will Herondale cackling in the back of your mind.

9. Sky Without Stars by Jessica Brody

This sci-fi retelling of Les Miserables was bound to have a killer love triangle, and it delivered. When you drop that into a society on another planet on which a rebellion is resurfacing after hundreds of years, this book has all the makings of another favorite for fans of Infernal Devices.

10. Crown of Feathers by Nicki Pau Preto

Family problems? Stumbling into a war you had no business fighting? Strong female leads? Check, check, check for both Infernal Devices and Crown of Feathers. If you loved the mystery behind Tessa’s background, you’ll lose it for Veronyka’s.

 

Want more recs? Check out more books to read if you love the Shadowhunters! 

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to register for this site.
Return to home page.