Book List

Books to Read if You Love The Great British Bake Off

June 15, 2021
Saleena Nival

The Great British Bake Off is one of my favorite shows of all time. From biscuits to cookies (aren’t those the same thing?), cakes to sponges (isn’t a sponge a type of cake?) and more delicious, complex baked goods, the Great British Bake Off leaves you wanting, no needing, a sweet fix. Can I bake? Nope! But I sure do know how to read…

Books to Read if You Love The Great British Bake Off

1. A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and Tomorrow by Laura Taylor Namey

Lila Reyes would most definitely win the title of Star Baker in the Great British Bake Off. A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and Tomorrow is mostly set in England, where Lila learns that she can love two different places at once. Don’t forget to grab a snack while you’re reading this, for it’ll make you very hungry!

 

2. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Lara Jean in the To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before series would give all the bakers a run for their money in the fight for Best British Baker. Not only do these books have swoony love stories, Lara Jean bakes yummy desserts that would surely impress Mary and Paul.

 

3. What I Like About You by Marisa Kanter

Halle is one of many characters on this list who would excel at the Great British Bake Off. Halle is Halle, but she’s also someone else: the famous creator of a YA book blog that pairs epic custom cupcakes with covers and reviews, otherwise known as Kels. What will happen when she comes face-to-face with her online best friend, who has no idea who she really is online?

 

4. Hungry Hearts by Various Authors

There are 13 tales of food and love in Hungry Hearts. Much like the contestants on GBBO, each character has a special relationship with food and baked goods, and these tales will keep you as hungry as you are when you watch baking competitions!

 

5. A Pho Love Story by Loan Le

The Great British Bake Off sometimes features some pretty interesting flavor combinations, and contestants often bring their cultures’ tastes and spices into classic British bakes. This spirit can be found in A Pho Love Story, where both Vietnamese characters, Bao and Linh, are proud of their culture’s food.

 

6. Love & Luck by Jenna Evans Welch

Love & Luck follows Addie as she visits Ireland for her aunt’s over-the-top destination wedding. This comfort book takes place in the Irish countryside, so if you love the random (but extremely cute!) farm animal interludes in the Great British Bake Off, you’ll want to grab this book!

 

7. Kings, Queens, and In-Betweens by Tanya Boteju

The Great British Bake Off is a feel-good, comfort TV show, just like Kings, Queens, and In-Betweens! This debut novel is about a queer teen, Nima Kumara-Clark, who navigates questions of identity and self-acceptance while discovering the magical world of drag.

 

8. The Lucky List by Rachael Lippincott

The Lucky List is a queer romance that is bound to leave you teary-eyed! It follows Emily, who has lost her mother from cancer and is trying to connect with her through by completing a long-lost summer bucket list. Emily works in a bakery and, just like all the contestants on the Great British Bake Off, finds great comfort in baking.

 

Looking for more? Check out these must-read books that will make you hungry!

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to register for this site.
Return to home page.