Book List

9 Contemporary Reads If You Love Fairy Tales

February 17, 2021
Francie Crawford

Fairy tales are timeless. Over years and years, they have evolved and changed and shown up in many of our modern stories. If you’re a lover of classic tales and their retellings, check out these contemporary reads!

9 Contemporary Reads If You Love Fairy Tales

1. Glimpsed by G.F. Miller

In the tradition of Cinderella, this quirky and charming rom-com is a whole new take on the lore from the classic tale. It’s sure to delight and surprise you!

 

2. Of Curses and Kisses by Sandhya Menon

This modern twist on Beauty and the Beast is sure to please. Set at a boarding school with a fantastic enemies-to-lovers romantic arc, you’ll want to add this to your shelf immediately!

 

3. Of Princes and Promises by Sandhya Menon

This follow-up to Of Curses and Kisses is another page turner for your shelf. A twist on The Princess and the Frog, you’ll totally fall for the twists and turns that continue to plague Rosetta’s Academy.

 

4. Lies Like Poison by Chelsea Pitcher

This thrilling read is filled with fairy tale easter eggs, from Snow White to Jack & the Beanstalk, with the added plus of foul play and a mystery to be solved. You’ll be on the edge of your seat with every page you turn.

 

5. Our Wayward Fate by Gloria Chao

This take on a classic Chinese folk tale is a unique retelling that will spice up your slate of reads big time. A lovely romance and a strong female lead, this contemporary retelling is sure to become a favorite!

 

6. The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

A take on the classic The Little Mermaid, this read has an unexpected myth within a myth aspect to it. A parallel for the legend in a town where the legend was believed to originate, this twist on the original is as magical as it gets!

 

7. Tithe by Holly Black

A dark new take on the myths of faeries, Holly Black really knocks it out of the park with this one. This read is packed with action, drama, and world-building like you’ve never seen—you won’t be able to put it down!

 

8. Songs from the Deep by Kelly Powell

Another murder mystery retelling, this thriller by Kelly Powell explores the myth of the sirens. Always a dark and fascinating topic, this read deals with the gray area between mythical monsters and real-world monsters.

 

9. Love & Olives by Jenna Evans Welch

Any book set in Greece is going to be full of mythic elements, but this one focuses specifically on the lost city of Atlantis. A wonderfully heartfelt read, this book is so packed with myth and magic that you’ll want to read it over and over.

 

Looking for more? Check out these YA fantasies with totally unique legends!

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to register for this site.
Return to home page.