Book List

Books to Read if You Love Enola Holmes on Netflix

October 7, 2020
Alissa Nigro

Enola Holmes seems to have jostled, argued, or downright barged her way into everyone’s hearts. She’s the spunky heroine we all need right now and [SPOILER] I personally loved how she left the Viscount nincompoop at the very end. Stay classy, girl.

Whether you’re fan of the Enola Holmes book series, or of the MILLIONS of iterations of Sherlock Holmes, or just a fan of mystery/intrigue/adventure romps with wit and a dash of romance, this movie hit all the right notes. If you’re now left wishing there was more—don’t worry—we’ve got you covered.

Books to Read if You Love Enola Holmes on Netflix

1. The Lady Rogue by Jenn Bennet

Of all the books I’ve included on this list, this is my favorite. Jenn is known for writing contemporary romances and she brings her witty banter and swoon-worthy scenes to an adventure story that will perfectly fill that Enola-sized hole you’ve got there.

Theodora, like Enola, had an unusual upbringing. She’s read every book in her treasure hunter father’s library, has an impressive knowledge of the world’s most sought-after relics, and has all the ambition in the world. What she doesn’t have is her father’s permission to go on a hunt with him. That honor goes to her father’s nineteen-year-old protégé—and once-upon-a-time love of Theodora’s life—Huck Gallagher, while Theodora is left to sit alone in her hotel in Istanbul. That is, until her father goes missing while searching for a legendary and magical ring that once belonged to Vlad the Impaler—more widely known as Dracula.

 

2. Magic Dark and Strange by Kelly Powell

While it definitely belongs on this list for action-adventure, intrigue, and romance, Magic Dark and Strange is also about…well, magic.

Catherine Daly has an unusual talent. She can awaken the dead for a few precious moments with loved ones seeking a final goodbye. But this magic comes with a price: for every hour that a ghost is brought back, Catherine loses an hour from her own life. When Catherine is given the unusual task of collecting a timepiece from an old grave, she enlists Guy Nolan, the watchmaker’s son, to help her dig it up. But instead of a timepiece, they find a surprise: the body of a teenage boy. Catherine and Guy must race to unravel the connection between the missing timepiece and the undead boy. For this mysterious magic could mean the difference between life and death—for all of them.

 

3. The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell

Like Enola Holmes, The Last Magician hits all the right notes of a good mystery adventure that also includes time travel and magic.

In this story, Esta is a talented thief, and she’s been raised to steal magical artifact. With her innate ability to manipulate time, Esta can pilfer from the past, collecting these artifacts before anyone even realizes she’s there. And all of Esta’s training has been for one final job: traveling back to 1901 to steal and ultimately save an ancient book containing magical secrets before the mysterious “Magician” can destroy it and doom all of the Mageus to a hopeless future.

 

4. Nancy Drew: The Curse by Micol Ostow

Nancy Drew was the original female detective – although Sherlock technically does predate her. In this prequel to the hit show on the CW, Nancy finds herself investigating a mystery involving an old town curse. While Nancy isn’t one for ghost stories, marks of a rumored curse become bolder…and more sinister. All old towns have their traditions and histories, but as Nancy will soon discover, they don’t always tell the whole story.

 

5. Slayer by Kiersten White

Lastly, we have a book that is based in the world of one of the most famous bad-ass girl heroine who defied all of sweet-pretty girl stereotypes: Buffy.

Nina and her twin sister, Artemis, are far from normal. It’s hard to be when you grow up at the Watcher’s Academy, which is a bit different from your average boarding school. Here teens are trained as guides for Slayers—girls gifted with supernatural strength to fight the forces of darkness. And thanks to Buffy, the famous (and infamous) Slayer that Nina’s father died protecting, Nina is not only the newest Chosen One—she’s the last Slayer, ever. Period.

One thing is clear: Being Chosen is easy. Making choices is hard.

 

Looking for more? Check out these books if you loved Julie and the Phantoms.

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to register for this site.
Return to home page.