Book List

Books to Read if You Loved Five Feet Apart

September 11, 2020
Annika Voss

When I first watched Five Feet Apart, I think I used up an entire box of tissues. But even though this movie made me ugly cry an impressive amount, it also made me laugh and swoon at the adorable romance. If you loved the Five Feet Apart movie as much as I did, then you’ll definitely want to check out the books below!

Books to Read if You Loved Five Feet Apart

1. All This Time by Mikki Daughtry and Rachael Lippincott

All This Time is just a swoonworthy and heartbreaking as Five Feet Apart, which makes sense since it was written by the same authors. When Kyle finds himself in the hospital after a car accident, which leaves his girlfriend dead, he doesn’t know how to go on. But when he meet Marley, who’s dealing with her own grief, he begins to heal.

 

2. When You Were Mine by Rebecca Serle

If you love a good star-crossed lovers story then you should pick up When You Were Mine, another Romeo & Juliet retelling. The difference between this book and Five Feet Apart is that it’s actually told from the perspective of Rosaline, Romeo’s former lover.

 

3. This Might Hurt a Bit by Doogie Horner

Want to laugh, cry, laugh some more, then laugh and cry at the same time? Then read this book! I think in many ways Kirby from This Might Hurt a Bit and Stella from Five Feet Apart are going through similar experiences and the antics that Kirby gets up to will definitely have you smiling.

 

4. Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippicott

Just in case you’ve only seen the movie, you should definitely check out the book! There are quite a few differences between the book and the movie that will make this feel like a brand-new read. But I’d still recommend having tissues next to you because this book is just as heartbreaking.

 

5. Our Year of Maybe by Rachel Lynn Solomon

This book is perfect for fans of Five Feet Apart. Sophie has always loved her best friend Peter and she finds out that she’s a match for the kidney transplant he needs, she doesn’t hesitate to donate one of her own. But Peter’s life post-transplant isn’t what either of them expected. He fears he’ll forever be indebted to Sophie and Sophie isn’t sure who she is without him. Then one heartbreaking night twists their relationship into something neither of them recognizes, leading them to question whether their friendship is even worth fighting for.

 

6. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

In Second Chance Summer, Taylor Edwards’ mostly normal family is devastated by the news that her father has cancer — and has only three or so months to live. Facing the diagnosis head on, her dad decides the family should go to their old beach house for the summer to finally spend real time together, and get to know one another again. Not to mention the beach house resides in the town where Taylor’s old best friend and first ever boyfriend live.

 

7. You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone by Rachel Lynn Solomon

Similar to how the characters in Five Feet Apart have a hereditary disease called Cystic Fibrosis, and have to deal with its limitations with regard to their relationship, this book centers around twins who find out that one of them has inherited their mother’s Huntington’s disease. Adina and Tovah couldn’t be more different and the Huntington’s diagnosis pushes them farther apart as they wrestle with guilt, betrayal, and the unexpected thrill of first love.

 

Looking for more? Check out these books that will make you cry!

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to register for this site.
Return to home page.