Book List

Books to Read if You Loved the Show Love, Victor

August 28, 2020
Chantal Gersch

If you’re like me and always looking for a new show to binge, Love, Victor might have come across your “Watch Next” feed. And if you’re like me, you promptly sat down and watched the entire series in one night because it was JUST. THAT. GOOD. Well friends, it’s been announced that we’re getting a second season of Love, Victor and to pass the time until the season drops, I recommend these eight books for your Love, Victor loving heart.

Books to Read if You Loved the Show Love, Victor

1. Social Intercourse by Greg Howard

Like Victor, Jax is a sports star in a small southern town who feels like he cannot be himself… like he’s holding his breath. But when Beckett Gaines, the Golden Girls-loving, quick-witted, and out-and-proud gay senior, enters into his life, Jax’s entire world turns upside down. Much like when Victor meets Benji. Social Intercourse has laugh-out-loud humor and a swoon-worthy romance you’ll love to root for.

 

2. Don’t Ask Me Where I’m From by Jennifer De Leon

At the start of the Love, Victor series, Victor tells Simon that his story is “nothing like his” – and it’s true. As a queer Latinx teen from Texas, Victor struggles under the weight of his family’s expectations as he navigates deep-rooted issues such as machismo and homophobia. In similar ways, Don’t Ask Me Where I’m From protagonist’s Liliana Cruz also struggles under familial expectations as she explores her cultural identity in this coming-of-age narrative of what it means to be a first-generation Latinx in today’s world.

 

3. The Lost Book of the White by Cassandra Clare and Wesley Chu

Love, Victor has one of the most captivating “will they/won’t they” relationships between Victor and Benji. I’m not going to spoil anything for those who haven’t binged the entire series yet (but seriously, DO THAT NOW), but there’s serenading, heartfelt glances across the room, and a kiss that lit my TV aflame. If you’re in the mood for an equally swoon-worthy relationship but without the uncertainty, read The Lost Book of the White. Alec and Magnus are #couplegoals, and this continuation of their love story will remind you why!

 

4. Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi

Like most 21st century relationships, technology plays a large role in Victor’s personal interactions throughout the Love, Victor series. Texting, calling, social media – they are all integral aspects of communication. In Emergency Contact, when Penny and Sam cross paths it’s not exactly a Hollywood meet cute: they’re both too socially awkward for that. But they exchange numbers and stay in touch—almost entirely by text message, a form that allows them to get to know each other while being witty and snarky and intimate without the uncomfortable weirdness of, you know, actually having to see each other in person.

 

5. The Sullivan Sisters by Kathryn Ormsbee

Family is an important theme in Love, Victor. As Victor wrestles with understanding his own sexuality and path to self-discovery, he also faces challenges at home such as family secrets and sibling conflicts. When the time comes, he’s afraid to tell his conservative parents the truth. The Sullivan Sisters explores similar themes of family as told through the perspective of three sisters. This atmospheric mystery unravels a secret betrayal in the family’s past, and takes an introspective look at sisterhood and the importance of family bonds.

 

6. Recommended for You by Laura Silverman

In Love, Victor, Victor is hired to be a barista at the coffee shop Benji manages. This work-place setting allows Victor and Benji to grow closer and closer over the show’s run, just like in Recommended for You. This charming and hilarious rom-com following two teen booksellers whose rivalry is taken to the next level as they compete for the top bookseller bonus

 

7. Shine by Jessica Jung

Music plays a large role in the Love, Victor series. Benji is a local musician and competes in the “Battle of the Bands” which gives us one of the most iconic moments of the series (cough… Call Me Maybe… cough). If you live for these musical moments (like I do), you should read Shine! This debut follows Rachel Kim, a Korean American teen who is thrust into the competitive technicolor world of K-pop.

 

8. We Are the Wildcats by Siobhan Vivian

Friendship plays a key role in Victor’s journey throughout the first season of Love, Victor. Felix, Victor’s enthusiastic yet instantly charming neighbor, is his first friend after the move to Creekwood and watching their bond of friendship grow is both heart-warming and fulfilling. This strong bond is echoed in We Are the Wildcats, a page-turning and empowering novel that explores the complexity and strength of friendship.

 

Looking for more? Check out which books you should read if you loved Never Have I Ever!

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to view this site.