Book List

Must-Read Books That Went On Sale in August 2019

August 30, 2019
Annika Voss

The summer is dwindling down as we get ready for the new school year and those crisp fall days. I don’t know about you, but I can’t wait to see the leaves change and order myself a nice pumpkin spice latte (that’s right, I said it).

But before the summer is officially over, let’s look back at the amazing books that came out this past month. If you haven’t read these already, you should definitely think about adding them to your TBR!

Must-Read Books That Went On Sale in August 2019

1. Start Here by Trish Doller

Willa and Taylor spend the summer sailing from Ohio to Key West, following a list of clues left by their best friend who recently passed away. They have two months and two thousand miles to discover how life works without their best friend—and decide if their own friendship is worth saving.

2. Containment by Caryn Lix

Kenzie and her super-powered friends escaped from Sanctuary…barely. Now they’re stuck on a stolen Alien ship with nowhere to go. Now everyone is dealing with the memories of the aliens they encountered on Sanctuary and hiding their own dark secrets. But when Kenzie intercepts a radio message saying that more aliens are on their way, she and her friends might be the only hope at stopping them before they reach Earth. But aliens aren’t the only things hunting them…

3. Making a Play by Abbi Glines

Don’t miss the fifth book in the Field Party series. Ryker Lee is finally enjoying his senior year—he has great friends, hangs out with hot girls, and is on track to get a football scholarship that will set him up for college. Despite this, a small part of him wonders if there’s more to life than parties and meaningless hookups—and if football even means as much to him as it does to his fellow teammates. And when he meets the new girl at school, his world totally changes…

4. In a Perfect World by Trish Doller

Now out in paperback, In a Perfect Word tells the story of Caroline Kelly, an Ohio teenager who’s suddenly forced to relocate to Cairo, Egypt the summer before senior year when her mother gets a dream job opening an eye clinic for the poor. Caroline is white and Catholic, and her small town in Ohio doesn’t have any Egyptians or Muslim people in it, so she has no idea what to expect in Egypt. But while there she meets, befriends, and starts to fall for Adam, the son of her family’s driver, who helps her adjust to Cairo and see it’s not so bad trying new things after all.

5. Sanctuary by Caryn Lix

Now out in paperback, don’t miss the first book in the Sanctuary trilogy. Alien meets Alexandra Bracken’s The Darkest Minds in this thrilling debut novel about prison-guard-in-training, Kenzie, who is taken hostage by the super-powered criminal teens of the Sanctuary space station—only to have to band together with them when the station is attacked by mysterious creatures.

6. Jazz Owls by Margarita Engle

From the Young People’s Poet Laureate Margarita Engle comes a searing novel in verse about the Zoot Suit Riots of 1943. This beautiful book is now out in paperback!

7. Learning to Breathe by Janice Lynn Mather

Sixteen-year-old Indy struggles to conceal her pregnancy while searching for a place to belong in this stunning debut novel that is now out in paperback, and is perfect for fans of Amber Smith and Sara Zarr.

Looking for more? Check out what must-read books came out in July 2019!

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to register for this site.
Return to home page.