Book List

9 Must-Read Books That Went On Sale in June 2019

June 28, 2019
Annika Voss

It’s officially summer! Looking for some amazing books to read as you head to the beach? We had so many books that came out in June that are total must-reads.

9 Must-Read Books That Went On Sale in June 2019

1. Ghosts of the Shadow Market by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, Sarah Rees Brennan, Robin Wasserman, and Kelly Link

Ghosts of the Shadow Market, is all about fan-favorite Jem Carstairs.

Written with Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, Kelly Link, and Robin Wasserman, the book includes 10 stories of Jem’s adventures in Shadow Markets around the world spanning more than a hundred years.

2. Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson

From the New York Times bestselling author of An Enchantment of Ravens comes an imaginative fantasy about an apprentice at a magical library who must battle a powerful sorcerer to save her kingdom.

3. All Eyes on Us by Kit Frick

In this taut, tense thriller about two teens who find their lives intertwined when an anonymous texter threatens to spill their secret. Amanda Kelly is the daughter of small town social climbers, dating real estate heir Carter Shaw. Rosalie Bell is fighting to remain true to herself and her girlfriend against her Christian fundamentalist parents by carrying on a fake relationship with Carter on the side. Now, Amanda and Rosalie are roped into a bid to take Carter down and unmask their stalker, known as Private, before Private uproots their lives.

4. The Modern Faerie Tales by Holly Black

Sixteen-year-old Kaye is a modern nomad. Fierce and independent, she travels from city to city with her mother’s rock band until an ominous attack forces Kaye back to her childhood home. There, amid the industrial, blue-collar New Jersey backdrop, Kaye soon finds herself as an unwilling pawn in an ancient power struggle between two rival faerie kingdoms—a struggle that could very well mean her death.

This special bind-up edition includes Tithe, Valiant, and Ironside.

5. Something Like Gravity by Amber Smith

This book is beautifully written, filled with both touching and heartbreaking moments. Chris has recently come out as transgender and love is the last thing on his mind as he’s still processing the terrify assault he survived a year ago. Maia is still trying to find where she fits in as she grieves the death of her older sister. But when a near-fatal car accident brings the two of them together, they might just find a way to move forward.

6. Breaking Bailey by Anonymous

In the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky, this heart-wrenching story chronicles a girl’s fatal experience with testing her moral limits and the dangers of addiction.

7. Virtually Yours by Sarvenaz Tash

Mariam Vakilian hasn’t dated anyone since her high school sweetheart Caleb broke up with her. So, when she decides to take advantage of an expiring coupon and try out a new virtual reality dating service, it’s sort of a big deal. It’s an even bigger deal when it chooses as one of her three matches none other than Caleb himself. That has to be a sign, right? Except that her other match, Jeremy, just happens to be her new best friend IRL. So, which should she trust? Is all fair in modern love?

8. This Might Hurt a Bit by Doogie Horner

A grieving teen faces dangerous classmates, reckless friends, and the one-year anniversary of his sister’s devastating death in this poignant, quirky, often humorous novel that’s perfect for fans of Jeff Zentner and Brendan Kiely.

9. Hungry Hearts edited by Elsie Chapman and Caroline Tung Richmond

Hungry Hearts is a series of interconnected short stories written by some of our favorite authors like Sandhya Menon, Anne-Marie McLemore, and Rin Chupeco. It explores the intersection of family, food, and culture in the lives of thirteen teens.

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to view this site.