Featured Reads

Every Book You Can Read For Free on Riveted by Simon Teen in June 2019

June 1, 2019
The Riveted Team
Believe In Your Shelf

New month = new free reads for YOU!

It’s the first of the month, which means we’ve got a whole new set of books to read FOR FREE on RivetedLit.com. Plus we have extended excerpts of new YA novels hitting shelves in June 2019. Since its Pride Month, we’re also featuring some of our fave LGBTQIA+ books! So read on to discover what’s available this month!

Every Book You Can Read For Free on Riveted by Simon Teen in June 2019


Full Reads


1. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.

Start reading now!

2. Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee

After a shout-out from one of the Internet’s superstar vloggers, Natasha “Tash” Zelenka suddenly finds herself and her obscure, amateur web series, Unhappy Families, thrust in the limelight: She’s gone viral.  And when Unhappy Families is nominated for a Golden Tuba award, Tash’s cyber-flirtation with a fellow award nominee suddenly has the potential to become something IRL—if she can figure out how to tell said crush that she’s romantic asexual. Tash wants to enjoy her newfound fame, but will she lose her friends in her rise to the top? What would Tolstoy do?

Start reading now!

3. Autoboyography by Christina Lauren

When bisexual teen Tanner Scott’s family relocated from California to Utah, it nudged him temporarily back into the closet. But it only takes one second for him to notice Sebastian, and less than a month to fall completely in love with him. And Sebastian seems to feel the same way. The only problem? Sebastian’s conservative religion forbids romantic relationships between boys.

Start reading now!

4. With or Without You by Brian Farrey

Evan and Davis get beaten up for being loners. For being gay. For just being themselves. When they’re recruited to join the Chasers, a fringe crowd that promises them protection and status, Evan is caught between his best friend and his boyfriend, Erik. Evan has lied to keep his two worlds separate. Now those same lies could destroy the very relationships he’s trying to protect.

Start reading now!

5. These Precious Scars by Emily Suvada

A haunting short story prequel to the Mortal Coil series.

Start reading now!

6. As Kismet Would Have It by Sandhya Menon

Will Dimple and Rishi find their happily ever after? Find out in this funny, romantic, endlessly charming e-novella sequel to When Dimple Met Rishi!

Start reading now!


Extended Excerpts


1. All Eyes on Us by Kit Frick

In this taut, tense thriller about two teens who find their lives intertwined when an anonymous texter threatens to spill their secret. Amanda Kelly is the daughter of small town social climbers, dating real estate heir Carter Shaw. Rosalie Bell is fighting to remain true to herself and her girlfriend against her Christian fundamentalist parents by carrying on a fake relationship with Carter on the side. Now, Amanda and Rosalie are roped into a bid to take Carter down and unmask their stalker, known as Private, before Private uproots their lives.

Start reading now!

2. Ghosts of the Shadow Market by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, Kelly Link, and Robin Wasserman

Ghosts of the Shadow Market, is all about fan-favorite Jem Carstairs.

Written with Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, Kelly Link, and Robin Wasserman, the book includes 10 stories of Jem’s adventures in Shadow Markets around the world spanning more than a hundred years.

Start reading now!

3. Something Like Gravity by Amber Smith

This book is beautifully written, filled with both touching and heartbreaking moments. Chris has recently come out as transgender and love is the last thing on his mind as he’s still processing the terrify assault he survived a year ago. Maia is still trying to find where she fits in as she grieves the death of her older sister. But when a near-fatal car accident brings the two of them together, they might just find a way to move forward.

Start reading now!

4. The Red Scrolls of Magic by Cassandra Clare and Wesley Chu

From #1 New York Times bestseller Cassandra Clare and award-winner Wesley Chu comes the first book in a new series that follows High Warlock Magnus Bane and Alec Lightwood as they tour the world after the Mortal War. The Red Scrolls of Magic is a Shadowhunters novel.

Start reading now!

5. Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson

From the New York Times bestselling author of An Enchantment of Ravens comes an imaginative fantasy about an apprentice at a magical library who must battle a powerful sorcerer to save her kingdom.

Start reading now!

6. Brave Face by Shaun David Hutchinson

Hutchinson was depressed. He was also an outsider because of his sexual orientation. Eventually, everything combusted leading to an attempt to take his own life. When depression starts talking, it’s hard to convince yourself it’s not telling you the truth. Hutchinson did make it out okay, though. More than okay. And his story is one of hope that everybody should read.

Start reading now!

7. The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried by Shaun David Hutchinson

Dino doesn’t mind spending time with the dead. His parents own a funeral home, and death is literally the family business. He’s just not used to them talking back. Until Dino’s ex-best friend July dies suddenly—and then comes back to life. Except not exactly. Somehow July is not quite alive, and not quite dead.

Start reading now!

8. Kings, Queens, and In-Betweens by Tanya Boteju

In this funny, feel-good debut novel, a queer teen navigates questions of identity and self-acceptance while discovering the magical world of drag. Brimming with love, joy, hope and hilarity, this is a story of first heartbreak and trying to find out where you fit when you’re not even quite sure who you are. You’ll fall in love with the colorful, confident, and real characters in Kings, Queens, and In-Betweens.

Start reading now!

9. Social Intercourse by Greg Howard

A gay teen living in South Carolina has his world turned upside-down by a jock in this laugh-out-loud novel. As Beck and Jax plot to get their parents (Beck’s dad, Jax’s mom) to split, hearts are broken, new romance blooms, but nothing will go down the way they planned.

Start reading now!

10. The Modern Faerie Tales by Holly Black

Sixteen-year-old Kaye is a modern nomad. Fierce and independent, she travels from city to city with her mother’s rock band until an ominous attack forces Kaye back to her childhood home. There, amid the industrial, blue-collar New Jersey backdrop, Kaye soon finds herself as an unwilling pawn in an ancient power struggle between two rival faerie kingdoms—a struggle that could very well mean her death.

This special bind-up edition includes Tithe, Valiant, and Ironside.

Start reading now!

11. This Might Hurt a Bit by Doogie Horner

A grieving teen faces dangerous classmates, reckless friends, and the one-year anniversary of his sister’s devastating death in this poignant, quirky, often humorous novel that’s perfect for fans of Jeff Zentner and Brendan Kiely.

Start reading now!

12. Virtually Yours by Sarvenaz Tash

Mariam Vakilian hasn’t dated anyone since her high school sweetheart Caleb broke up with her. So, when she decides to take advantage of an expiring coupon and try out a new virtual reality dating service, it’s sort of a big deal. It’s an even bigger deal when it chooses as one of her three matches none other than Caleb himself. That has to be a sign, right? Except that her other match, Jeremy, just happens to be her new best friend IRL. So, which should she trust? Is all fair in modern love?

Start reading now!

13. Hungry Hearts edited by Caroline Tung Richmond and Elsie Chapman

Hungry Hearts is a series of interconnected short stories written by some of our favorite authors like Sandhya Menon, Anne-Marie McLemore, and Rin Chupeco. It explores the intersection of family, food, and culture in the lives of thirteen teens.

Start reading now!

14. Phoebe Will Destroy You by Blake Nelson

Nick has just finished his junior year and needs a break from his stressful home life. What better place to spend the summer than Seaside, Oregon, a sleepy beach town where he can chill out, meet girls, and work at his Uncle’s car wash. Enter local legend, Phoebe Garnet. She’s funny, sexy, but dangerously self-destructive. Suddenly Nick is more in love, more obsessed, more heartsick than he’s ever been in his life.

Why does Nick love her so much? Will he survive this obsession? And who can he turn to for help?

Start reading now!

15. Breaking Bailey by Anonymous

In the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky, this heart-wrenching story chronicles a girl’s fatal experience with testing her moral limits and the dangers of addiction.

Start reading now!

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to register for this site.
Return to home page.