General

9 Amazing Authors You Didn’t Know Were Canadian

May 1, 2019
Diego Molano Rodriguez
Riveted Editorial Board

Canada has given the world some of it’s greatest treasures, from Montreal Bagels to Poutine and the finest hockey player to ever grace the ice. Often forgotten is the bounty of YA authors that have come from the Great White North. Below is a list of some of our favorite Canadian story weavers, and the books of theirs you absolutely have to check out!

9 Amazing Authors You Didn’t Know Were Canadian

1. Nicki Pau Preto – Crown of Feathers

Nicki Pau Preto’s debut novel, Crown of Feathers is a fantasy novel about a girl who disguises herself as a boy to join a secret group of warriors that ride phoenixes into battle. This epic read is perfect for fans of Ember in the Ashes and the Three Dark Crowns series.

 

2. Caryn Lix – Sanctuary

Caryn Lix is a new addition to our Canadian authors. Her pulse-pounding sci-fi novel Sanctuary is a fantastic read in the vein of Aliens and X-Men, and perfect for fans of The Darkest Minds.

 

3. S.K. Ali – Love From A to Z

Love From A to Z is an unforgettable romance that is part The Sun Is Also a Starmixed with Anna and the French Kiss, following two Muslim teens who meet during a spring break trip. S.K. Ali’s debut novel, Saints and Misfits, was a Morris Award finalist and an Entertainment Weekly Best YA Book of 2017. If you haven’t read either of these books, I’d add them to your TBR right away because these are both must-reads.

 

4. Tanya Boteju – Kings, Queens, and In-Betweens

Tanya Boteju lives on unceded territories of the Musqueam, Squamish, and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations (Vancouver, Canada). Kings, Queens, and In-Betweens is her debut novel and tells the story of Nima, who’s a little bit awkward and working through family issues. But when she finds herself immersed in the drag scene, filled with macho kings and magical queens, she learns how to confidently express herself and accept the love that surrounds her.

5. Kenneth Oppel – Every Hidden Thing

One of the most prolific authors on this list, Kenneth Oppel has written books for readers of all ages. My personal favorite is Every Hidden Thing, a paleontological YA romance just right for grown-up dinosaur kids.

 

6. Alan Cumyn – Hot Pterodactyl Boyfriend

Another Canadian author with a bounty of books to pick from! With so many deserving titles to his name, it’s tough to pick just one – but we’ll go with Hot Pterodactyl Boyfriend, a book so deliciously weird I’m not even going to try to describe it here.

 

7. Erin Bow – The Scorpion Rules 

Erin Bow’s The Scorpion Rules is a fantastic dystopian novel. Focused on children of world leaders held hostage by an overlord artificial intelligence to promote world peace, fans of Neal Shusterman and Suzanne Young are sure to be entertained.

 

8. G.S. Prendergast – Zero Repeat Forever

Part dystopian survival story, part Beauty and the Beast-esque romance, G.S. Pendergast’s Zero Repeat Forever wowed us when it was released last year. Deeply human and packed with action, there’s no way we could leave her off this list.

 

9. Sarah Raughley – Fate of Flames

Four girls with the power to control the elements must come together to save the world from a terrible evil in Sarah Raughley’s Fate of Flames.

 

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to register for this site.
Return to home page.