Book List

Must-Read YA Books That Went on Sale This October

November 1, 2018
Nicole Benevento
Riveted Editorial Board

It’s fall, everybody! Now that the weather is cooling down, there is nothing I want to do more than to grab myself a new read, snuggle under the covers with a cool breeze blowing in from the window, and sip a mug of hot apple cider.  For some reason, I doubt I’m the only one! If you feel the same way, you’re in luck. This October was a HUGE book birthday month! Whether you are feeling dystopian, sci-fi, fantasy, supernatural, contemporary, or nonfiction, we’ve got you covered.  Happy reading!

Must Read YA Books That Went on Sale This October

1. Dry by Neal & Jarrod Shusterman

When the California drought escalates to catastrophic proportions, one teen is forced to make life and death decisions for her family in this harrowing story of survival from New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman and his son, Jarrod Shusterman.

 

2. This Cruel Design by Emily Suvada

Cat thought the Hydra epidemic was over, but when new cases pop up, Cat must team up with an enemy to fix the vaccine before the virus spirals out of control in this thrilling sequel to This Mortal Coil, which New York Times bestselling author Amie Kaufman says “redefine’s ‘unputdownable.’”

 

3. The Devil’s Thief by Lisa Maxwell


In this spellbinding sequel to the New York Times bestselling book The Last Magician, Esta and Harte set off on a cross-country chase through time to steal back the elemental stones they need to save the future of magic.

4. Light as a Feather by Zoe Aarsen

Riverdale meets Final Destination in this fast-paced and deliciously creepy novel about an innocent game that turns deadly at a high school sleepover.

Look out for the original series—starring Peyton List, Brent Rivera, Liana Liberato, Ajiona Alexus, and Dylan Sprayberry—now streaming on Hulu!

5. Period Power by Nadya Okamoto

PERIOD founder and Harvard College student Nadya Okamoto offers a manifesto on menstruation and why we can no longer silence those who bleed—and how to engage in youth activism.

 

6. The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody

The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody

In this romantic road trip story, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson, a teen girl discovers the value of ordinary objects while learning to forgive her absent father.

 

7. The Perfect Candidate by Peter Stone


From debut author Peter Stone, comes a heart-stopping, pulse-pounding political thriller that’s perfect for fans of Ally Carter and House of Cards.

 

8. The Acid King by Jesse Pollack

Real stories. Real teens. Real consequences.

A murder in a small Long Island town reveals the dark secrets lurking behind the seemingly peaceful façade in this latest installment of the Simon True series.

 

9. Just Wreck It All by N. Griffin

Crippled with guilt after causing a horrific accident two years earlier, sixteen-year-old Bett’s life is a series of pluses and minuses. But when the pluses become too much to outweigh the minuses, Bett is forced to confront her self-harming behavior in this stirring and powerful novel about self-forgiveness.