Book List

Must Read YA Books that Went on Sale in September

September 27, 2018
Nicole Benevento
Riveted Editorial Board

At the end of the month, I always look back to see how many new books I read that month.  Some months are of course better than others, and but all the same, I can’t help but wonder what other new books came out that month that I ended up missing out on.  Have you ever felt this same kind of new book FOMO?  Have no fear – we’re here for you!  Here are some of the great books that came out in September that you need to add to your TBR list!

Must-Read YA Books that Went on Sale in September 2018

1. People Kill People by Ellen Hopkins

People Kill People by Ellen Hopkins

Someone will shoot. And someone will die.

#1 New York Times bestselling author Ellen Hopkins tackles gun violence and white supremacy in this compelling and complex novel.

 

 

2. A Heart in a Body in the World by Deb Caletti

A Heart in a Body in the World by Deb Caletti

Each step on Annabelle’s 2,700 mile cross-country run brings her closer to facing a trauma from her past in National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti’s novel about the heart, all the ways it breaks, and its journey to healing. Because sometimes against our will, against all odds, we go forward.

 

 

3. Rabbit & Robot by Andrew Smith

Rabbit & Robot by Andrew Smith

Told with Andrew Smith’s signature dark humor, Rabbit & Robot tells the story of Cager Messer, a boy who’s stranded on the Tennessee—his father’s lunar-cruise utopia—with insane robots.

 

 

4. Tweak Movie Tie-In by Nic Sheff

The story that inspired the major motion picture Beautiful Boy featuring Steve Carell and Timothée Chalamet.

This New York Times bestselling memoir of a young man’s addiction to methamphetamine tells a raw, harrowing, and ultimately hopeful tale of the road from relapse to recovery.

 

 

5. Strange Grace by Tessa Gratton

Strange Grace by Tessa Gratton

Once, a witch made a pact with a devil. The legend says they loved each other, but can the story be trusted at all? Find out in this lush, atmospheric fantasy novel that entwines love, lies, and sacrifice.

 

 

6. Attack of the 50 Foot Wallflower by Christian McKay Heidicker

From the author of Cure for the Common Universe comes a monster-movie-like novel that bravely challenges perceived notions of beauty, identity, and modern voyeurism.

 

 

7. Summer Bird Blue by Akemi Bowman

Three starred reviews for this stunning novel about a mixed race teen who struggles to find her way back to her love of music in the wake of her sister’s death, from the author of the William C. Morris Award finalist Starfish.

 

 

8. Analee, In Real Life by Janelle Milanes

Analee, In Real Life by Janelle Milanes

A Cuban-American teen navigates social anxiety, her father’s remarriage, and being torn between two very cute boys in this heartfelt and funny contemporary novel—perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Kasie West.

 

 

9. 500 Words or Less by Juleah Del Rosario

Strange Grace by Tessa Gratton

A high school senior attempts to salvage her reputation among her Ivy League–obsessed classmates by writing their college admissions essays and in the process learns big truths about herself in this mesmerizing debut novel-in-verse, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and Sonya Sones.

 

We’re sorry, you are not eligible to view this site.