Book List

11 YA Books Being Made Into Movies That You Need to Read ASAP

July 25, 2018
The Riveted Team
YA Fiction Is Our Addiction

It is a truth universally acknowledged that the book is almost always better than the movie. But we still love seeing our favorite stories on screen! Here are 11 YA books being made into movies that you should read before they hit theaters or a streaming service near you.

10 YA Books Being Made Into Movies That You Need to Read ASAP

1. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

The first book in Jenny Han’s bestselling series follows the life of sixteen-year-old Lara Jean Song after her secret letters to past crushes get leaked to the world. They’ve been working on the movie for a while (here’s everything we know about it so far), Variety recently announced that To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is coming to Netflix on August 17th, 2018, and Netflix just released a teaser trailer! Watch it below:

 

2. Dry by Neal Shusterman and Jarrod Shusterman

When the California drought escalates to catastrophic proportions, Alyssa must make life and death decisions for her family in this harrowing story of survival from New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman and Jarrod Shusterman. Dry isn’t out yet (it hits shelves October 2018), but there’s already major movie news. Deadline posted the scoop that Paramount won a multi-studio auction for the rights to Dry. Whether you read the book or see the movie (we suggest both), be sure to do it with a water bottle close by.

 

3. Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott

Perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our StarsFive Feet Apart is about Stella and Will, two cystic fibrosis patients who meet in the hospital and fall in love. Stella must stay away at least six feet away from anyone who might possibly pass on an infection that would jeopardize her chances at a lung transplant–and that includes Will. Five Feet Apart hits shelves November 20 of this year, and the movie–which stars Cole Sprouse (Riverdale) and Haley Lu Richardson–will make its big screen debut on March 22, 2019!

 

4. The Beast is an Animal by Peternelle van Arsdale

Variety reported last year that Amazon is producing a TV series based on Peternelle van Arsdale’s gothic novel The Beast is an Animal with director Ridley Scott’s production company. The Beast is an Animal tells the story of Alys, a girl with a secret talent who must journey into the deepest parts of a dark and dangerous forest to save her village from an encroaching threat. Yes, those were chills you just felt.

 

5. Scythe by Neal Shusterman

Neal Shusterman has several books being made into movies, and just like with Dry, Universal snagged the movie rights to Scythe before it even hit shelves. Set in a future world where humans do not die except when “gleaned” by mysterious scythes, Scythe follows the story of two apprentice scythes forced to compete for a position neither of them really wants. The sequel, Thunderhead, is also available now. We can’t wait to see this story brought to the big screen!

 

6. The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

The Diabolic is the first book in S.J. Kincaid’s series about a humanoid teenager named Nemesis who was bred and raised to be the perfect bodyguard for a galactic senator’s daughter. When the girl is summoned as a hostage to the Emperor’s court, Nemesis disguises herself and goes instead. Pretending to be human makes her question if she is more than just a deadly force. Sony snapped up the rights to The Diabolic, and we’re impatient to see what visual stunnery Hollywood will bring to this space epic. Already read The Diabolic? Check out its sequel, The Empress!

 

7. Tweak by Nic Sheff

In an unusual move for books being made into movies, Amazon Studios adapted Nic Sheff’s memoir, Tweak, about his addiction and the road from relapse to recovery, and his father’s memoir on the same topic, Beautiful Boy, into one feature film. Beautiful Boy stars Steve Carrell as David Sheff (The Office) and Timothée Chalamet (Call Me By Your Name) as Nic. The movie has an October 12 release, so pick up a copy of Tweak to read it before you see it!

 

8. Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds

Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds

With all the awards, accolades, and reader love Jason Reynolds’ bestselling Long Way Down has earned since it came out, it’s no surprise movie studios were clamoring for the movie rights. Universal optioned the rights, Variety announced, with John Legend producing! We can’t wait to see how they tell a story written in verse that takes place over a period of only 60 seconds via the film format. However they end up structuring the narrative, we’re definitely seeing it opening night.

 

9. The Wicked Deep by Shea Ernshaw

Deadline announced that Netflix acquired the screen rights to The Wicked Deep, Shea Ernshaw’s novel about a town haunted each summer by the vengeful return of three sisters, thought to be witches, who were drowned in a nearby bay 200 years ago. Only our heroine, Penny, can see the sisters, an ability she keeps secret. When the sisters begin luring teen boys to their deaths, she must choose–come clean to save the guy she loves, or stay quiet to save herself?

 

10. Cursed by Tom Wheeler & Frank Miller

Unlike most of the books being made into movies on this list, you’ll have to wait a little longer for Cursed to hit shelves (it’s currently scheduled for fall 2019). But there is already a TV show in progress, with a 10-episode order from Netflix. As Deadline notes in their announcement, “This is believed to be the first time the same creative team will be writing a book and TV series based on it simultaneously as they get to explore the characters from the book in more detail on screen.”  Cursed is an illustrated YA novel, written by Wheeler with Miller’s art featured throughout. It’s a reimagining of the King Arthur legend through the eyes of the Lady of the Lake. We can’t wait to read–and see!–this story.

 

11. Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

The bestselling novel by Becca Fitzpatrick is on it’s way to the silver screen! Variety just announced that Kellie Cyrus has signed on to direct the fantasy adaption. “Cyrus is best known for directing the supernatural TV franchises “The Vampire Diaries” and “The Originals” as well as an episode of the upcoming drama “You” from Greg Berlanti and Sera Gamble.” We can’t wait to see who will plat Patch and Nora!

Those are some of the books being made into movies that we’re looking forward to! Want more books to add to your TBR? Here are some YA fantasy novels you just have to read.

Or if you prefer stories set in the real world, we highly recommend these great contemporary YA novels.