Book List

What Are Our 9 Most Anticipated Spring 2018 Books?

December 19, 2017
Diego Molano Rodriguez
Riveted Editorial Board

With the New Year rapidly approaching, we’ve been dealing with the general malaise of the end of the year – the unfulfilled resolutions, the holiday sugar shock, and budget busting shopping. In the hopes of raising everyone’s spirits, we have decided to put together a list of the titles we are most excited for in Spring 2018!

 Place Between Breaths

The Place Between Breaths by An Na

This dark and intensely moving book by Printz Award–winning author An Na focuses on Grace, a 16-year-old girl who fears she may succumb to schizophrenia like her mother. Interning at a lab sequencing the disease, she comes across a section of code that could be a breakthrough in the treatment of the disease… or does she? Full of twists and turns; don’t miss this offering from a master storyteller, coming in March of 2018.

For-Every-One-by-Jason-Reynolds-193x300

 

For Every One by Jason Reynolds

Jason Reynolds is a star in the making. His latest book, Long Way Down, has been a New York Times bestseller, and talks about a film adaptation are in the works! In this upcoming book, Jason Reynolds has used his incredible talents to craft a letter to the reader – an inspirational message about the power of perseverance, the importance of dreams, and the inner strength in each and every one of us. Look for this fantastic new offering in April of 2018!

 

I-Have-the-Right-To-by-Chessy-Prout-193x300

I Have the Right To by Chessy Prout and Jenn Abelson

In 2015, the court case of Owen Labrie, a senior at the prestigious St. Paul’s School, became national news. He was accused of raping a freshman student during the “Senior Salute” – a tradition where senior boys sought to seduce younger girls. When St. Paul’s School attempted to force a court-ordered reveal of her identity during a civil trial, Francesca “Chessy” Prout and her family appeared with Savannah Guthrie on The Today Show and revealed her identity as a sexual assault survivor, hoping to use the platform to help other survivors. In partnership with Jenn Ableson of the Boston Globe Spotlight team, Ms. Prout masterfully shares her story, while also examining the culture of victim-blaming and the institutions that prefer to sweep incidents under the rug rather than protect victims. Heart-wrenching, powerful, and incredibly timely, this must-read comes out in March of 2018.

Wicked Deep

The Wicked Deep by Shea Ernshaw

Shea Ernshaw’s The Wicked Deep brings us into the cursed town of Sparrow. Here, the ghosts of three sisters, unjustly murdered for witchcraft, return to lure boys to their deaths in the harbor. Part Hocus Pocus, part Practical Magic, this March 2018 novel promises to be spooky fun in the early spring!

Emergency Contact

Emergency Contact by Mary K. Choi

Is there anyone cooler than Mary K. Choi? The former Vice writer has crafted a scintillating debut novel about Penny, a college freshman and anxious mess who exchanges numbers with Sam, a kinda cute, kinda mysterious, kinda needy barista. What follows is a tender, sometimes painful, and ultimately relatable examination of young adulthood and the ways we deal with the people we love. Get ready to have your heart strings pluck
Stay-Sweet-193x300

Stay Sweet by Siobhan Vivian

Siobhan Vivian’s 2016 novel, The Last Boy and Girl in the World, has a very special place in my heart. I am so excited for this new novel from her, coming in April of 2018! Stay Sweet is centered on Meade Creamery, an ice cream shop run exclusively by neighborhood girls since World War II. Strong female characters, friendship, and romance makes this a must read for fans of Jenny Han and Morgan Matson.
You'll-Miss-Me-When-I'm-Gone-193x300

You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone by Rachel Lynn Solomon

Named as a Top 10 Indie Next pick, this heart-wrenching novel explores the relationship between sisters Tovah and Adina. They discover that one of them carries the genetic markets for the disease that is slowly killing their mother, while the other does not. As their relationship strains under the pressure of these diverging fates, they are forced to reexamine their views on life, love, and family. Make sure you have a box of tissues handy when this one drops in January!

Elena Mendoza

The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza by Shaun David Hutchinson

What can I say that hasn’t been said about Shaun David Hutchinson? This master of weird YA has knocked it out of the park with such fantastic books like At the Edge of the Universe and We Are the Ants. In his latest offering, he tells the story of Elena Mendoza, a teenage girl product of a virgin birth. The story only gets weirder and more engrossing from there. Definitely check out this page-turner, available February 2018.

 Thunderhead

Thunderhead by Neal Shusterman

The follow up to last year’s smash hit Scythe, Thunderhead is an action-packed thrill ride of a book. I don’t want to spoil too much about the series (honestly, it’s fantastic – get a copy of Scythe and read it now!), but I will say that the series explores a world where death has been eliminated by an omnipotent AI – unless you’re culled by a Scythe – members of a guild of sanctioned executioners. If you thought dystopian fiction was getting stale, this will be a breath of fresh air for the genre. I can hardly wait for January to get my hands on this one.

Did we leave off any books you’re particularly interested in? Let us know in the comments below, and make sure to keep checking in for fantastic free reads and content throughout the holiday season!