Site News

Featured Reads: Week of 5/22

May 22, 2017
The Riveted Team
YA Fiction Is Our Addiction

Happy Monday!

And what a glorious Monday it is! Why? Because this week…

LORD OF SHADOWS WILL FINALLY BE OUT!!!!

Tomorrow (May 23) is the big day, though you can start reading our excerpt right now to whet your appetite! Chances are good that if you’re reading this, you’re already more than familiar with author Cassandra Clare’s world of the Shadowhunters but on the off chance you’re visiting Riveted for the first time and have somehow never crossed paths with any of Cassie’s novels, don’t dive into Lord of Shadows just yet! You’ll need to at LEAST start with Lady Midnight, the first book in the Dark Artifices series, and we’re featuring an excerpt of it now so you can jump right in. In fact, here are six reasons why you should start reading it! Really though, if you’re new to the world of the Shadowhunters, you should go all the way back to the beginning and start with City of Bones and the rest of The Mortal Instruments series, and then you’d be doing yourself a disservice if you didn’t ALSO read Clockwork Angel and the Infernal Devices trilogy, but we digress…..

All caught up on Shadowhuntery goodness, or—gasp—maybe Cassandra Clare’s books aren’t for you?! It’s cool, we get it, and we’ve always got options for you! As we’ve been getting closer to summer, we’ve been featuring summery reads to get us all in the proper mindset and we’ve got two more this week. First, check out How My Summer Went Up in Flames from Jennifer Salvato Doktorski: when impulsive teen Rosie sets fire to her cheating ex-boyfriend’s car and is served with a restraining order, her parents send her on a cross-country road trip with her neighbor and his two friends. Then, we’ve got Summer of Yesterday from Gaby Triana: Haley’s not happy to be stuck on summer vacation with her dad and his new family…until she experiences a seizure that transports her back in time to 1982!

If those aren’t enough for you, we’ve still got last week’s reads! Check out the extended excerpt of Laurent Linn’s Draw the Line, the story of quiet artist Adrian and his alter ego, the Renaissance-art-inspired superhero of his own design, Graphite. Dive into some Shaun David Hutchinson with the extended excerpt of We are the Ants, about abductee Henry Denton who’s been given a frightening ultimatum from his alien tormentors, or check out the full read of FML about a party, a plan, and a kiss that can change everything! Or read either of last week’s summer reads, The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler and Fifteenth Summer by Michelle Dalton. The Summer of Chasing Mermaids follows a talented singer who loses her voice but finds the romance of a lifetime, while Fifteenth Summer is about a romance that should last a lifetime…but may only get one summer.

Find out more about this week’s reads:

Lord of Shadowsby Cassandra Clare

Sunny Los Angeles can be a dark place indeed in Cassandra Clare’s Lord of Shadows, the sequel to the #1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling Lady Midnight. Lord of Shadows is a Shadowhunters novel.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

How My Summer Went Up in Flamesby Jennifer Salvato Doktorski

First she lost her heart. Then she lost her mind. And now she’s on a road trip to win back her ex. This debut novel’s packed with drama and romance!

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Summer of Yesterdayby Gaby Triana

Back to the Future meets Fast Times at Ridgemont High when Haley’s summer vacation takes a turn for the retro in this totally rad romantic fantasy.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Draw the Lineby Laurent Linn

After a hate crime occurs in his small Texas town, Adrian Piper must discover his own power, decide how to use it, and know where to draw the line in this stunning debut novel exquisitely illustrated by the author.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

We Are the Antsby Shaun David Hutchinson

Henry Denton has spent years being periodically abducted by aliens. Then the aliens give him an ultimatum: The world will end in 144 days, and all Henry has to do to stop it is push a big red button.

Only he isn’t sure he wants to.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

FMLby Shaun David Hutchinson

There’s more than one way to get the girl in this fun and fast-paced novel about one epic party and a kiss that could change everything.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

The Summer of Chasing Mermaidsby Sarah Ockler

From the bestselling author of Twenty Boy Summer comes a “compelling and original” (Kirkus Reviews) novel about a talented singer that loses her ability to speak after a tragic accident, leading her to a postcard-perfect seaside town to find romance.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Fifteenth Summerby Michelle Dalton

Love blossoms by the lake in this sweet summer romance, in the tradition of Seventeeth Summer and Sixteenth Summer.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >