Site News

Featured Reads: Week of 5/15

May 15, 2017
The Riveted Team
YA Fiction Is Our Addiction
Share: Facebook Twitter Tumblr Pinterest Email

Happy Monday!

It’s the beginning of a new week, which means you’re due for some new reads! We’ll start with the extended excerpt of Draw the Line by Laurent Lin, which will finally be available in paperback tomorrow (May 16)! In Draw the Line, talented artist and self-proclaimed sci-fi geek, Adrian, gets spurred into action when a hate crime occurs in his small town. Though he prefers to stay quiet and concentrate on creating his own world through the Renaissance-art-inspired superhero of his own design, Graphite, Adrian must step out of the shadows and into the real world to decide what kind of person he truly wants to be—no matter the risk. Intriguing right? Take this quiz and find out which character you are from Draw the Line!

Then, we have some great reads by Shaun David Hutchinson. First, there’s the extended excerpt of We Are the Ants in celebration of the release of the paperback, which also releases tomorrow (May 16)! Next, there’s the full read of FML, available both for your enjoyment and so you can remember what an amazing writer Shaun is. The first is the story of Henry Denton, who must decide if the world is worth saving. The second is about a party, a plan, and a kiss that can change everything!

Next, we’re happy to confess that we consider it our duty to get you in a summer-ready mindset. How? With summer-y reads of course! Our two summer reads this week are Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler, and Fifteenth Summer by Michelle Dalton. Summer of Chasing Mermaids follows a talented singer who loses her voice but finds the romance of a lifetime. Fifteenth Summer is about a romance that should last a lifetime but may only get one summer.

Finally, last week’s reads are still available for one more week! Check out the extended excerpt of Reaper by Kyra Leigh, the story about a girl who must reap three souls to get to Paradise. Then take a look at the full reads of In Honor by Jessi Kirby (think: road-trip romance), Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson (think: family, love, and loss), and Clean by Amy Reed (think: rehab, recovery, and self-discovery).

Find out more about this week’s reads:

Draw the Lineby Laurent Linn

After a hate crime occurs in his small Texas town, Adrian Piper must discover his own power, decide how to use it, and know where to draw the line in this stunning debut novel exquisitely illustrated by the author.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

We Are the Antsby Shaun David Hutchinson

Henry Denton has spent years being periodically abducted by aliens. Then the aliens give him an ultimatum: The world will end in 144 days, and all Henry has to do to stop it is push a big red button.

Only he isn’t sure he wants to.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

FMLby Shaun David Hutchinson

There’s more than one way to get the girl in this fun and fast-paced novel about one epic party and a kiss that could change everything.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

The Summer of Chasing Mermaidsby Sarah Ockler

From the bestselling author of Twenty Boy Summer comes a “compelling and original” (Kirkus Reviews) novel about a talented singer that loses her ability to speak after a tragic accident, leading her to a postcard-perfect seaside town to find romance.



FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Fifteenth Summerby Michelle Dalton

Love blossoms by the lake in this sweet summer romance, in the tradition of Seventeeth Summer and Sixteenth Summer.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Reaperby Kyra Leigh

Sixteen-year-old Rosie Wolf is sure when you die, you go straight to Paradise, until she wakes to discover she has died in an accident and that Paradise isn’t what she thought it would be.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

In Honorby Jessi Kirby

A devastating loss leads to an unexpected road trip in what Sarah Ockler calls a “beautiful, engaging journey with heart, humor, and just a pinch of Texas sass.”

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Second Chance Summerby Morgan Matson

Sandwiched between two exceptional siblings, Taylor Edwards never felt like she stood out—except for her history of running away when things get too complicated. Then her dad receives unexpected, terrible news, and the family makes the last-minute decision to spend the summer together in the cramped quarters at their old lake house.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Cleanby Amy Reed

From the author of Beautiful, a poignant, captivating novel about five teens in rehab.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Leave a Comment