Featured Reads

Featured Reads: Week of 4/24

April 24, 2017
The Riveted Team
YA Fiction Is Our Addiction
Share: Facebook Twitter Tumblr Pinterest Email

Happy Monday!

Wow, this is a big week on Riveted, we have a LOT going on!

First up, Tim Federle’s The Great American Whatever comes out in paperback this week so we wanted to bring back our extended excerpt and make sure you had a chance to check out the book Kirkus called “a Holden Caulfield for a new generation.” It’s apt praise, and Kirkus wasn’t the only one to think so—The Great American Whatever raked in no less than four starred reviews and heaps of praise! If you’re in need of a good read, you couldn’t go wrong with this one!

Then, we’re all jittery with excitement because this weekend is YALLWEST! Yes, we’re venturing out to sunny California for the second time to participate in the west-coast equivalent of the YA/middle-grade book festival YALLFEST and we hope to see some of you there! Of course, we know you won’t all be able to make it but we always try and bring a little YALLWEST to you through Riveted so this week, we’re featuring reads from nearly all of our YALLWEST authors! We’re featuring some great classics from some of our seasoned authors as well as powerful reads from some of our new debut authors, check out full reads of Neal Shusterman’s Unwind, Lisa McMann’s Wake, and Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Angel, and extended excerpts of Simon Curtis’s Boy Robot and Lilliam Rivera’s The Education of Margot Sanchez.

As if that weren’t enough, did you know this week is National Princess week? Sure, it’s a fabricated Disney holiday but that doesn’t mean we can’t still celebrate it here on Riveted with some Princess-themed reads! We’ve got two for you: Just Ella, the first book in Margaret Peterson Haddix’s The Palace Chronicles trilogy, a realistic twist on the Cinderella legend, and Anastasia and Her Sisters, Carolyn Meyer’s story of Anastasia Romanov and the grand duchesses of Russia.

Finally, last week we celebrated Suzanne Young and we’re still celebrating this week! Read an extended excerpt of Suzanne’s latest, The Adjustment, as well as full reads of The Program and Just Like Fate!

Find out more about this week’s reads:

The Great American Whateverby Tim Federle

From the award-winning author of Five, Six, Seven, Nate! and Better Nate Than Ever comes “a Holden Caulfield for a new generation” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

Unwindby Neal Shusterman

The first twisted and futuristic novel in the perennially popular New York Times bestselling Unwind dystology by Neal Shusterman.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Wakeby Lisa McMann

For seventeen-year-old Janie, getting sucked into other people’s dreams is getting old. Then she falls into a gruesome nightmare, one that chills her to the bone. For the first time, Janie is more than a witness to someone else’s twisted psyche. She is a participant….

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Clockwork Angelby Cassandra Clare

Magic is dangerous—but love is more dangerous still. Discover the riveting first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Infernal Devices Trilogy, prequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Boy Robotby Simon Curtis

Seventeen-year-old Isaak discovers the truth about his origin and the underground forces that must come together to fight against a secret government organization formed to eradicate those like him in this high-octane science fiction debut.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

The Education of Margot Sanchezby Lilliam Rivera

Pretty in Pink comes to the South Bronx in this bold and romantic coming-of-age novel about dysfunctional families, good and bad choices, and finding the courage to question everything you ever thought you wanted—from debut author Lilliam Rivera.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

Just Ellaby Margaret Peterson Haddix

The Cinderella legend gets a realistic twist in this enchantingly believable adventure from New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix that Booklist calls “provocative and entertaining.”

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Anastasia and Her Sistersby Carolyn Meyer

There’s a heavy price to pay for royalty in this compelling—and true—story of Anastasia Romanov and her fellow grand duchesses of Russia, from an award-winning novelist.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

The Adjustmentby Suzanne Young

How do you go back to a life you can’t remember? Find out in this follow up to the New York Times bestselling The Program and The Treatment.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

The Programby Suzanne Young

In this “gripping tale for lovers of dystopian romance” (Kirkus Reviews), true feelings are forbidden, teen suicide is an epidemic, and the only solution is The Program.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Just Like Fateby Suzanne Young and Cat Patrick

One decision changes everything in this Sliding Doors meets Anna and the French Kiss novel that explores split realities of romance and family loyalties, “recommended for fans of Sara Zarr, Elizabeth Scott, and Maureen Johnson (School Library Journal).”

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Leave a Comment