General

Featured Reads: Week of 4/17

April 17, 2017
The Riveted Team
YA Fiction Is Our Addiction
Share: Facebook Twitter Tumblr Pinterest Email

Happy Monday!

It’s “Suzanne Young Week” here on Riveted this week! We’re BIG fans of Suzanne and we hope you are too (if you’re not, let’s see what we can do about that!). The FIFTH book in Suzanne’s amazing Program series, The Adjustment, is out this week and of course, we’re happy to provide you with an extended excerpt so you can jump right in! The Adjustment begins a new Program duology, this time following Tatum Masterson. Tatum never went through The Program, never had to have her memories stripped….but her boyfriend Weston did. Now’s he’s back, but he doesn’t remember Tatum at all, much less all of the years he and Tatum spent together. Then they hear about The Adjustment, a new therapy that implants memories from a donor and Tatum and Weston agree to go through the process. Surely, it will all go smoothly, right? 😉

No doubt, The Adjustment will be another riveting entry in Suzanne’s Program series but if you’re new to the series, we’ve got you covered: we couldn’t feature an extended excerpt of The Adjustment without bringing back The Program, the first book in the series, as a featured read for any newbies out there! Granted, as the start of a new duology, you could easily jump right in to The Adjustment and enjoy it all on it’s own but if you’d rather start right from the beginning, now’s your chance: start reading The Program and enter a dystopian future where teen suicide has become an international epidemic and a desperate society has resorted to wiping at-risk teens’ memories to cure their depression. Protagonist Sloane has gotten good at hiding her feelings, knowing that one outburst could land her in The Program. She takes solace in her boyfriend James, who has promised to keep them both safe and out of treatment. But despite the promises they made to each other, they are both growing weaker, depression is setting in…and The Program is coming for them. If you’re among those that STILL haven’t read The Program, please please PLEASE read it now and let us know what you think—you’ll be happy you did!

Then on a completely different note, we’ve got something else from Suzanne Young we think you might like! Teaming up with author Cat Patrick, Suzanne published Just Like Fate a few years ago. It’s practically impossible to talk about Just Like Fate without mentioning the Gwyneth Paltrow moving Sliding Doors—have you seen it? If you have, then you’ve already got a pretty good idea of what Just Like Fate is all about but in case you haven’t… Just Like Fate explores how the consequences of one decision can impact the rest of a life. In this case, protagonist Caroline must decide: take up her best friend’s offer to venture out to a Friday night party, or stay home with her family and her sick grandmother. The novel follows both decisions, revealing the unexpected ramifications on Caroline’s life with either choice, and though there are two distinct ways for her fate to unfold, there is only one happy ending.

Of course, don’t forget that last week’s reads are still available as well! Take a trip back in time for some piratey action in Nicole Castoman’s Blackhearts AND its sequel, Blacksouls, get lost in the novel-within-a-novel that is Scott Westerfeld’s Afterworlds, or dive into Delilah S. Dawson’s suspenseful thriller, Hit!

Find out more about this week’s reads:

The Adjustmentby Suzanne Young

How do you go back to a life you can’t remember? Find out in this follow up to the New York Times bestselling The Program and The Treatment.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

The Programby Suzanne Young

In this “gripping tale for lovers of dystopian romance” (Kirkus Reviews), true feelings are forbidden, teen suicide is an epidemic, and the only solution is The Program.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Just Like Fateby Suzanne Young and Cat Patrick

One decision changes everything in this Sliding Doors meets Anna and the French Kiss novel that explores split realities of romance and family loyalties, “recommended for fans of Sara Zarr, Elizabeth Scott, and Maureen Johnson (School Library Journal).”

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Blackheartsby Nicole Castroman

In this stunningly creative debut, Nicole Castroman reimagines the origins of history’s most infamous pirate—Blackbeard—and tells the story of the girl who captured his heart and then broke it, setting him on a path to destruction.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Blacksoulsby Nicole Castroman

Nicole Castroman brings the dangerous pirate ports of the Caribbean to life in this vibrant sequel to Blackhearts—the reimagined origin story of history’s most infamous pirate, Blackbeard.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

Afterworldsby Scott Westerfeld

From the #1New York Times bestselling author Scott Westerfeld comes a “masterful” (Cory Doctorow) novel-within-a-novel that you won’t be able to put down.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Hitby Delilah S. Dawson

In order to save her mother, a teen is forced to become an indentured assassin in this sizzling “movie ready” (Kirkus Reviews) dystopian thriller.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Leave a Comment