General

Featured Reads: Week of 3/6

March 6, 2017
The Riveted Team
YA Fiction Is Our Addiction
Share: Facebook Twitter Tumblr Pinterest Email

Happy Monday! Wondering what reading adventures are in store for you this week on Riveted? Wonder no more!

Our new featured reads this week all revolve around high school life, though they alternate between light and heavy subject matter. First up is an extended excerpt of Confessions of a High School Disaster, the debut novel from Emma Chastain (On sale tomorrow, March 7!). Whether you’re currently navigating the social intricacies of high school, trying to forget it entirely, or remembering it fondly, you’re bound to recognize some part of yourself in this warm and funny YA written in the tradition of Bridget Jones’s Diary. In stark contrast to Confessions, if you’re a fan of the diary-style format but prefer your reads on the opposite end of the spectrum from warm and funny, you may want to give Letting Ana Go a read. This harrowing account of anorexia and addiction written in the style of Go Ask Alice was one of our most popular reads on Pulseit prior to our Riveted relaunch. Back on the lighter side, we thought featuring a full read of Rhonda Helms’s Promposal would be a nice compliment to Confessions of a High School Disaster. Plus—as you’re all no doubt aware—March 11 is National Promposal Day! Finally, Amber Smith’s The Way I Used to Be shares the unforgettable story of a young woman as she struggles to find strength in the aftermath of an assault. We wanted to feature an extended excerpt of this powerful and extraordinary debut novel in case you missed it last year and if you want more, it will be on sale in paperback this week!

Not interested in high school?  We’ve got you covered! Read the extended excerpt of Nicole Castroman’s Blackhearts, a debut novel that reimagines the origins of history’s most infamous pirate, Blackbeard (This one landed on several of our recent book boyfriend lists!). For something a little spookier, you might try the excerpt of Peternelle van Arsdale’s recently released debut novel The Beast is an Animal. For a “transcendent love story” (Stephen Chbosky, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Perks of Being a Wallflower), give the extended excerpt of Siobhan Vivian’s The Last Boy and Girl in the World a read. Or if you want to escape our reality altogether, travel to the floating city of Internment in Lauren DeStefano’s Perfect Ruin.

Find out more about this week’s reads:

Confessions of a High School Disasterby Emma Chastain

In the tradition of Bridget Jones’s Diary, a lovably flawed high school student chronicles her life as she navigates the highs and lows of family, friendship, school, and love in a diary that sparkles with humor and warmth.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

The Way I Used to Beby Amber Smith

In the tradition of Speak, this extraordinary debut novel shares the unforgettable story of a young woman as she struggles to find strength in the aftermath of an assault.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

Promposalby Rhonda Helms

Prom should be one of the most memorable nights of your life. But for Camilla and Joshua, some elaborate promposals are getting in the way. Will they be able to land their dream dates in time for the dance?

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Letting Ana Goby Anonymous

In the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky, a harrowing account of anorexia and addiction.

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

Blackheartsby Nicole Castroman

In this stunningly creative debut “filled with well-drawn characters…and smoldering passion,” (Booklist) Nicole Castroman reimagines the origins of history’s most infamous pirate—Blackbeard.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

The Beast is an Animalby Peternelle van Arsdale

A girl with a secret talent must save her village from the encroaching darkness in this shivery, dark, and deeply satisfying  wholly original fairytale.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

The Last Boy and Girl in the Worldby Siobhan Vivian

From the critically acclaimed author of The List comes a stunning new novel about a girl who must say goodbye to everything she knows after a storm wreaks havoc on her hometown.

EXTENDED EXCERPT — READ IT NOW >

Perfect Ruinby Lauren DeStefano

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Chemical Garden trilogy: On the floating city of Internment, you can be anything you dream. Unless you approach the edge. Children’s Literature says “shades of Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World and George Orwell’s 1984 inspire DeStefano’s sci-fi/murder mystery page-turner.”

FULL BOOK — READ IT NOW >

One Response to Featured Reads: Week of 3/6


  1. Hannah_banana269 says:

    I cried at the end. I was so frustrated with her and Jill. Like girl please listen to those who love you! ESPECIALLY JACK. OH MY GOD I DIDNT EVEN HAVE TO MEET HIM TO FALL IN LOVE

Leave a Comment