General

3 Reasons to Read Impostor Queen

January 12, 2017
Natascha Morris
Riveted Editorial Board
Share: Facebook Twitter Tumblr Pinterest Email

If you haven’t read The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine, you absolutely should! It focuses on sixteen-year-old Elli, who was a small child when the Elders of Kupari chose her to succeed the Valtia, the queen who wields infinitely powerful ice and fire magic. Since then, Elli has lived in the temple, surrounded by luxury and tutored by priests, preparing for the day that the Valtia perishes and the magic finds a new home in her. But when the queen dies defending the kingdom from invading warriors, the magic doesn’t enter Elli. It’s nowhere to be found. Disgraced, Elli flees to the outlands, the home of banished criminals. That’s where Elli uncovers devastating new information about the Kupari magic, those who wield it, and the prophecy that foretold her destiny.

If the premise alone isn’t enough for you, here are 3 reasons why you should read The Impostor Queen as soon as you can!

1. It’s FANTASY

Fantasy is hot right now, so if you are like me and can’t get enough of imaginary worlds, look no further. The writing will suck you right into a lush fantasy world ripe with magic. 

 

2. LGBTQ Characters

Elli is likable, relatable, strong, and bi-sexual. That last trait isn’t something seen often in fantasy novels, especially not in the protagonist, so take this opportunity to add some diversity to your fantasy bookshelf!

3. Show your YA cred

The Impostor Queen (and the sequel The Cursed Queen) is a fantastic read that’s falling just under the radar, though I can’t figure out why. Yet everyone who reads it loves it (I might be biased in this because I’m obsessed but shhh we don’t have to go there). Once you’ve read it, you can show off your YA knowledge by giving your bookish friends a YA recommendation that they may not have received before. Ex: “Sarah J. Maas is awesome, but have you heard of Sarah Fine?”

Bonus: when she inevitably becomes a huge author, you can proudly proclaim that you knew about her first! 

If you aren’t convinced yet, there’s an extended excerpt available until January 16th so you can read a little and get hooked!

The Impostor Queenby Sarah Fine

The elders chose Elli to be queen, but they chose wrong in this beautifully crafted novel in the tradition of Kristin Cashore and Victoria Aveyard.

The Cursed Queenby Sarah Fine

Blood and victory. There is no other way.

The “fresh and fascinating magical world” (School Library Journal) of The Imposter Queen expands in this companion novel that answers the question: Who is the real queen of the Kupari?

One Response to 3 Reasons to Read Impostor Queen


  1. alyssayuri says:

    OH MY GOSH! YES! I really fell in love with this series! I haven’t read fantasy novels in a long time, around 3 or 4 years probably, but this made me like their world so much! So basically, Imposter Queen made me discover fantasy in a new light.

    Another reason to read this is because Elli is not your typical “Chosen One,” cause i know chosen ones have been such a thing in fantasy.

    If Imposter Queen has diversity, the sequel, Cursed Queen, has way more diversity! It’s not only LGBT but also with race too.

    The character development is crazy beautiful! Their inner monologue is so good, you want to hug them so bad!

Leave a Comment