Site News

Announcing the #WeAreHuman Riveted Readathon!

October 11, 2016
The Riveted Team
YA Fiction Is Our Addiction
Share: Facebook Twitter Tumblr Pinterest Email

Today is National Coming Out Day and it couldn’t be a better time to announce the #WeAreHuman Riveted Readathon!

In support of the Robot Army and the #WeAreHuman campaign, Simon Pulse and Riveted have teamed up with the It Gets Better Project to spread a message of awareness and acceptance in celebration of Simon Curtis’s upcoming debut YA novel, Boy Robot. In support of this mission, we’ll be donating $5,000 to the It Gets Better Project to help them bring a message of hope to LGBTQ youth.

How can you help? Join the Robot Army and READ! Reading literary fiction has been shown to improve empathy, making people better able to connect with their fellow human beings so for the Riveted Readathon, we’re giving you the opportunity to read eight great books featuring LGBTQ characters for free! AND, if we get 5,000 total reads by 11/11, we’ll DOUBLE OUR DONATION! It’s that simple: read free books, help us donate more money!

Join the It Gets Better Project and Boy Robot in supporting LGBTQ youth and inspire the change needed to make it better for them. Take the pledge here!

ItGetsbetter-logobanner

Readathon Titles:

Boy Robotby Simon Curtis

Seventeen-year-old Isaak discovers the truth about his origin and the underground forces that must come together to fight against a secret government organization formed to eradicate those like him in this high-octane science fiction debut.

Extended Excerpt — Read it Now >

Willful Machinesby Tim Floreen

In this action-packed, high-octane debut, the closeted son of an ultra-conservative president must keep a budding romance secret from his father while protecting himself from a sentient computer program that’s terrorizing the United States–and has zeroed in on him as its next target.

Full Book — Read it Now >

Promposalby Rhonda Helms

Prom should be one of the most memorable nights of your life. But for Camilla and Joshua, some elaborate promposals are getting in the way. Will they be able to land their dream dates in time for the dance?

Full Book — Read it Now >

We Are the Antsby Shaun David Hutchinson

Henry Denton has spent years being periodically abducted by aliens. Then the aliens give him an ultimatum: The world will end in 144 days, and all Henry has to do to stop it is push a big red button. Only he isn’t sure he wants to.

Full Book — Read it Now >

Afterworldsby Scott Westerfeld

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Scott Westerfeld comes a “masterful” (Cory Doctorow) novel-within-a-novel that you won’t be able to put down.

Full Book — Read it Now >

Three Truths and a Lieby Brent Hartinger

A weekend retreat in the woods and an innocent game of three truths and a lie go horribly wrong in this high-octane psychological thriller filled with romantic suspense by a Lambda Award–winning author.

Full Book — Read it Now >

Secrets, Lies, and Scandalsby Amanda K. Morgan

In the tradition of I Know What You Did Last Summer and How to Get Away with Murder, five teens must overcome their paranoia in order to keep their teacher’s death a secret in this fast-paced suspense thriller.

Full Book — Read it Now >

Love Blindby C. Desir

Shy high schooler Kyle Jamieson and Hailey Bosler, a musician with degenerative blindness, team up to tackle a bucket list of greatest fears in this compelling novel that explores what it means to take risks.

Full Book — Read it Now >

City of Bonesby Cassandra Clare

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder — much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing—not even a smear of blood—to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

Full Book — Read it Now >

4 Responses to Announcing the #WeAreHuman Riveted Readathon!


  1. Mars says:

    Thank you so very much for hosting this! I feel deeply gratefully for these reccomendations and free books. I actually wrote a whole blogpost expressing my feelings and telling other people about it!

    https://bookbackedblog.wordpress.com/2016/10/17/wearehuman-riveted-readathon/

  2. alyssayuri says:

    I pledged and i’m so proud of myself! Thanks for the free reads guys!!! This is definitely super awesome!

  3. fallen says:

    Ahhhh, I cannot wait to get get started!! All the free books sound so amazing and so many of them as well!! I am probably gonna start with we are the ants or afterworlds!!!!

  4. seanmoore87 says:

    Is it possible to download the limited free titles for reading on other devices? I’m blind and use my iPhone for reading most of my e-books.

Leave a Comment